Green Avocado Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 11, 2014
Very easy and VERY tasty! We have a local restaurant that serves a dip similar to this. I roasted the tomatillos before I blended everything together and then squeezed the juice of one lime into the mix. It was fantastic! My Latina mother-in-law gave it her stamp of approval. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
Definitely add lime or lemon juice. I added olive oil instead of water. Thanks for sharing this great recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
A squeeze of lime juice really does the trick to keeping the avocado a nice green color!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: High Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
This recipe was really good. I added an extra avocado as one other reviewer suggested, and I'm glad I did. Next time will add juice of lime as well. This was too thick for my blender, and my food processor was too small, so had to do it in 2 batches. It was gone in 2 days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
I really like this recipe. The avocado adds a creaminess that's unexpected and the heat isn't too hot. I didn't put in as much cilantro and added lemon juice in hopes it'll keep the avocado from browning in the fridge. Next time I'll add lime if I remember to pick some up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2009
Love this! And I did add lime...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2009
i would have given this 5 STARS but i added half a teaspoon of salt and i also think it would have been great with a lime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
I used this recipe as a base, but I made significant changes. I roasted the tomatillos after cutting them in half and putting them face down on a baking pan. I cooked them until the tops were brown and they were soft. I combined them with a ripe avocado, half a bunch of cilantro, salt, lime, and 1/4 of a white onion in the blender. I omitted garlic because I find garlic to overpower the other flavors, even though I usually love garlic. The resulting salsa is amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
This recipe really was great! As others had suggested, I felt it needed some salt and a little more acidity. I would suggest lime juice, but for those feeling adventurous, try what I did - about 2 tbsp of tequila! It added the perfect kick, especially after heating up as a sauce to dress some chicken with. Excellent recipe, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
Great recipe but I thought it needed a little fresh lime juice and salt in the end. Will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Avocado Tomatillo Salsa

Discover how to make the perfect summer salsa.

Avocado Salsa

A cool avocado salsa with corn, olives, and red peppers in a tangy vinaigrette.

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States