Green Abundance Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
This soup is the BOMB! I'll admit to tweaking the recipe a little, but it turned out so well. I had a meaty, bone-in piece of pork so I used that- Browned in some hot oil then removed. Next I tossed in a big spoon of butter with the oil and sauteed the green onions, leeks, onions, cabbage and garlic until soft and fragrant. I then added some finely chopped broccoli and cauliflower (omitted the Brussels sprouts for lack of room- I need to invest in a stock pot!). I also omitted the green pepper as it seemed out of place (I did have it on hand though). Then added 2 cups of Molson M beer, the rest water + 2 cubes of bouillon (one chicken, one beef) then the seasonings. I definitely at least doubled the seasonings, and added some marjoram & chili flakes. Near the end I added in the potatoes; this added "creaminess" to the soup. spinach would make a nice addition too, if you have some on hand. This dish can hold its own, no bread necessary. Will be a repeat this winter, that's for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2004
What a great recipe! If you like vegetables, this will taste good to you. It's so nourishing... we should be eating like this every night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CARMIK124

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Medford, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
My family absolutely LOVED this soup. My 21 year old daughter (the most finicky among us, but an avid Brussel Sprouts lover) actually gave it a 12 star rating :). My tweaks: (1) used cooked and "de-boned" boned-in pork chops rather than boneless pork loin (what I had on hand); (2) used 2 white potatoes and 2 red potatoes, quartered but unskinned (again, what I had on hand); (3) exchanged 2 carrots for the green pepper (family preference); (4) included 1 yellow onion to the leeks and scallions (green onions); (5) added 1/4 tsp. Sage (family preference) to the herb mix; and (6) tossed 4 chicken boullion into the pot as it cooked. I also "garnished" each serving with a slice of American cheese and set out our Parmesan/Romano mix fo;r who might want. A TOTAL success: really great flavor; wonderful texture. Will make -- again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
This is an excellent way to get your veggies. Check out the nutritional information- it is hearty and healthy. I too used carrots instead of green pepper. I did not know how to use leeks, so I washed, trimmed and chopped three whole ones and it provided a nice texture to the broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: East Millinocket, Maine, USA
Living In: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
My finicky family loved this recipe. Yes, it is bland, so I too improvised. I used mushroom soup and added half a bag of frozen spinach. Also added a teaspoon of seasoned salt and about a cup of shredded, cheddar/monterey jack cheese. Great, easy recipe for personalizing to your family's preference. This one can take almost any variation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
This was great on a cool, crisp Fall evening. I made a few changes. Didn't have green pepper so I used Carrots. Didnt have leeks and used homemade chicken broth. Also added, one cup of uncooked wheat sea shell pasta. Finally i felt it was missing one key ingredient which was a healthy dose of paprika. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
I LOVED this soup! I was in the mood for something healthy but didn't have time to run to the store. I used many of the ingredients listed, but had to substitute the following: pork loin w/crumbled turkey sausage, and Brussels sprouts for fresh spinach. I had to omit the following: green pepper, and wine. Still turned out VERY good and will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
Great recipe! Very different from most soups I've made. I changed it to suit my taste by eliminating the green pepper, Brussel sprouts, and leeks, but added fresh spinach. We topped it with freshly grated Romano cheese~~~YUM. .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2006
This was a pretty good soup. I wanted to try it because my family loves veggies and this was a wonderful variety all in one bowl! I did find it to be a little plain tasting, but I added 4 tsp. of chicken boullion and made it a little more like broth instead of just the water, and it was great! The only other problem that I had was getting all those veggies to fit in the pot. It would not all fit, so I just added as much as I could cram in. My whole family liked it and I will make it again. Thanx!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mischiefsgirl
Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA
Living In: Atascadero, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
What a great, healthy recipe! However, I did notice some issues here. First, it took me 45 minutes to chop everything up, as opposed to the 20 minute prep time listed. Also, this recipe makes a LOT more than 6 servings! Still, it's a good recipe. I used chicken breast in place of the pork, and was generous with the spices and wine...came out tasting great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kelsey's Favorite Stuffed Green Peppers

Peppers stuffed with rice, sauce, and seasoned beef and topped with cheese.

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Stuffed Green Peppers I

See how to make 5-star stuffed peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States