Greek Yogurt Coleslaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
it was DEEE-LISH. i did halve the mayo tho and i added more 1% milk and vinegar but not much. probably had to do that bc we only used 1/4c mayo. i may even cut the mayo completely next time bc you don't need it. i don't like it thick but you can taste and decide consistency as you are preparing. i put in a lot of pepper also b.c i like kick. i also made it night before to let marinate longer. was worth the wait. the 30+ guests at our father's day bbq were RAVING and honestly, once they found out it was almost fat free, they used the slaw as salad dressing for the garden salad we served and we didn't even open the dressing bottle!!! the yogurt makes it a meal in its own right but as a cole slaw, that's a bonus. i ate it with spare ribs and was awesome. my hubby put some on his pulled chicken sandwich and others followed suit and loved as well. it was a big hit -- no leftovers!!! fyi- we are a relatively healthy bunch who avoid extraneous fat and grease. this slaw has tang and kick, no oily pool of yuck on your plates. it was not a hard sell to get everyone to eat yogurt and cabbage once we told them it wasn't your avg fat laden slaw!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
I used half the yogurt. I also used more cabbage, one whole head along with a large onion and several carrots. I made a huge batch. Seems like this recipe needs more cabbage. Makes a lot of dressing even with half the yogurt. I also used sugar instead of honey and added a teaspoon of Dijon mustard. Turned out to be the the best coleslaw I've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
I basically reinvented this recipe. I used no milk and no vinegar. It was good (and simple) so I looked for similar recipes - to help figure out what I might have missed. Started adding a bit of vinegar and Bingo. I use this as a sandwich topping - especially for hot pastrami.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
Was really good. Did not add any milk but did add about a TBS of sugar to sweeten it just a tad without adding too much of a honey flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2014
I made half a recipe and used no fat Greek yogurt, light mayo and no milk. Definitely let sit in the refrigerator for a few hours before serving, just like with any Cole Slaw. This was tart; I felt like the honey didn't thoroughly mix with the yogurt/mayo combo. Next time I'll use a sweet non fat greek yogurt and leave out the honey, I think the flavors would mix better. This is a good, solid recipe that is easy to customize for your family's tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fulton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
I like this recipe - except for the mayo - any tips on how to eliminate it and sub something else?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianasayshi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
This is a nice option for healthier coleslaw. I did not feel the need to add any skim milk because I prefer a creamier base for the coleslaw and the end result was wet enough. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
Loved it!!!! My only change was to add a bit of fresh dill. Thank you for a fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIANAO

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
I made this with freshly grated cabbage and carrot mix and it was really good. I did approximate measurements it and make 1/4 of the recipe. It was still pretty 'wet' and I prefer my cole slaw with not so much dressing, but the flavor was really good. As a bonus, you don't use as much mayo. An excellent side to go with BBQ chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lela
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
We loved this tangy coleslaw. It was a pleasant change from coleslaws that incorporate mayo and a good side for fried chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lela

Cooking Level: Intermediate



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Angie's Dad's Best Cabbage Coleslaw

This irresistible coleslaw is more tart and tangy than creamy.

Nana's Southern Coleslaw

A creamy, tangy, vintage slaw handed down through the generations.

Spicy Peach Coleslaw

Sweet, juicy peaches make this spicy slaw the perfect summer side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States