Greek Tzatziki Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2007
PLEASE do yourself a favor and convert the "1 Tablespoon salt" to about half that or less. Same with the pepper. The recipe is completely inedible with that much salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
107 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2007
Yummy! One tip: if you use Greek yogurt you don't have to drain first. It is available in almost every supermarket near the regular yogurt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hartsdale, New York, USA
Living In: New Rochelle, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2007
This is so good! To make it creamier, I put the yogurt in a strainer lined with a paper towel (or coffee filter) to get rid of some of the whey for about an hour or two. I substitute balsamic vinegar for the lemon juice and zest. Use the large side of the grater for the cucumber or you will get a wet mush. I will use the whole cucumber. We always serve this with pork tenderloin or on our lamb burgers. It lasts several days. Efharisto(thank you)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
Awesome recipe. I didn't have zest on hand and it's fine! I used the juice from the plastic lemon. Perfect on sandwiches too! Help tips! 1. To make the dip less runny, strain the yogurt! This will leave you with 16oz, half the size the yogurt that you started with! That means you will need to halve all the other ingredients too so that it won't over power the yogurt taste. 2. Lessen the SALT. Add to taste. 3. Considering 16oz of yogurt, I would use 1 whole English cucumber seeded and CUBED to the size of a centimeter (elegance and crunch!). Your preference! 3. Tip to make the dip less runny, sprinkle a little salt on your cubed/grated cucumber and wrap it in a paper towel to soak up the cucumbers juice. 4. Add the cucumber to the dip when you're about to serve it. If it isn't added to the yogurt yet, keep the cucumber in a container with a fold paper towel to soak up excess moisture, keeping the cucumber crunchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2007
My husband's cousin from Greece taught me how to make a Tzatziki sauce a lot like this recipe but without the dill.I make this sauce whenever I fix a pork tenderloin. I use the Souvlaki recipe by Abby Benner to marinade the tenderloin.I use Fage Fat-free yogurt which I buy at Trader Joe's. It's thick and doesn't need to be strained.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2007
This is a wonderful dip. Don't change it. Greek cooking doesn't call for feta cheese in everything, and never in this recipe. It's supposed to be mild and refreshing. Cooling. A similar dip is served in our favorite Greek restaurant. Do as others have suggested make the yogurt cheese (draining the yogurt) so that it will be better supported by the vegetables you use for dipping. Also is good with good sturdy crackers, but a standout with raw veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Coupeville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2007
I do not strain the yogurt because I like a slightly thinner tzatziki. Leaving it over night thickens it just enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2007
Just a note for everyone trying this recipe The yogurt should be placed in cheese cloth and put in a strainer to drain all the liquid out.Then add the other ingredients It will have a better taste and texture
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise Dockal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
Tasty, but I made the mistake of straining the yogurt as most reviewers suggested, but failed to cut back on salt and lemon. If you strain the yogurt, you should cut back on the lemon zest and the salt by half. It's amazing how much liquid strained out of the yogurt. Very important step-- think it would have been runny otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
This tzatziki was a huge hit for my husbands birthday dinner. I served it with crisp pita and greek olives. Went wonderfully with my roasted lamb. I did learn though a little goes a long way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Tzatziki Sauce

Discover Chef John's secret to making the creamiest, best-ever tzatziki sauce.

How to Make Tzatziki Sauce

Pair this creamy cucumber and yogurt sauce with grilled meats and veggies.

Spanakopita (Greek Spinach Pie)

Watch how to make this top-rated Greek spinach pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States