Greek-Style Stuffed Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
This is my go-to stuffed pepper recipe. I also like to add in some chopped kalamata olives for that extra "mediterranean" flavor. Occasionally I will leave out the white wine, but it definitely tastes better with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley White

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by VickyLondres
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
My husband and I absolutely love it! I don't like sweet stuff in savory dishes, so I substituted raisins for chopped green olives.I topped everything with grated Parmesan and Pecorino Romano cheeses, to make it crusty. I'm glad I used both green and red peppers for this dish, as red peppers cooked A LOT FASTER than green ones. So we ate red peppers and kept greens for lunch the day after, when it went back to oven for another full hour!!! Next time I'll cook or boil green pepper for a little longer than specified in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VickyLondres

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Niteroi, Rio De Janeiro, Brazil
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
I honestly don't know how to cook but I can follow a recipe very well. This is so easy and so delicious that you can not mess it up. I did make a slight change, I used chicken instead of pork/beef and it was really good. My husband love it and will be making them again very soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
Great recipe. Substituted ground chicken and added garlic and greek oregano. very healthy and tasteful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
Excellent dish! I made it vegetarian with garbanzo beans (to keep with the Greek theme). Also added some garlic and oregano to give more flavor. Didn't have white wine, but chicken stock worked just fine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
The green peppers didn't cook; at 350 the inside of the stuffing was not even hot after 30 minutes! I would recommend putting a tight fitting lid on a casserole or dutch oven- foil is not enough. Also increasing the temperature and the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
This was a good recipe. I made several changes to it. My girlfriend is a vegetarian, so I used paneer (Indian cottage cheese) instead of pork. I used red wine is place of dry white wine and that worked well. Instead of using rice I used couscous. I bought a box of plain couscous from the store and cooked it in chicken broth. I also used walnuts instead of pine nuts and it worked well. The stuffing tasted really good with all these changes and the recipe was a super hit at the potluck we went to. I had some left over stuffing which I used to stuff portobello mushrooms, anaheim peppers and cubanelle peppers. Sprinkled some grated pizza cheese on the mushrooms before baking and they tasted better than just regular bell peppers. All in all, this turned out to be a very good experiment. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
I knew this would be a great recipe as soon as I read it. I used grass-fed ground beef and basmati brown rice instead. I cooked the rice in some vegie broth that I had made from the pulp left over after juicing carrots and celery. I also added a cloved of minced garlic to the broth. I also used this broth in place of the wine (because I didn't feel like opening a bottle). I used golden raisins and cooked them with the rice so that they would be nice and plump. I toasted the pine nuts before adding to the mixture and I also added a handful of fresh chopped oregano, margoram, and mint. I had a little bit of leftover homemade marinara sauce so I used that in place of the tomato puree and I also had a bunch of overripe cherry tomatoes from my garden so I chopped those up and added them. I omitted the feta because I didnt have any even though I know that this is an important ingredient for the flavor. I thought the recipe was still delicious even without the feta. I did think about adding some greek olives for the extras salty flavor instead of the feta but maybe next time. I think I will use ground lamb next time too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
Great recipe! I didn't use raisins (didn't have them). Still, it turned out tasty. Expensive recipe, though. Pine nuts, feta and peppers all add up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
These are very good! I used quinoa instead of rice because that is what I had on hand. Very tasty, will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Stuffed Green Peppers I

See how to make 5-star stuffed peppers.

Stuffed Peppers My Way

These roasted green bell peppers are stuffed with a savory feta and rice mixture.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States