Greek Style Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
Excellent base recipe. I used a 1.5 lb bag of fingerling potatoes and they were great. I used them whole but next time I will try thick slices. I par boiled them and cut baking time down to 25 minutes. I also used lemon pepper, extra garlic, less water, less oil. Important!! Zest the lemon and add the zest to the mix. YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vicky

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
This is a very yummy side dish, but I did have to adjust the cooking method to get the dish cooked in time for dinner. Rather than cook the potatoes in the oven the whole time I boiled them until about 1/2 done and then continued with the rest of the recipe (but of course left out the water). I really enjoyed the end result, but next time I'll add a bit more lemon (personal preference). Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
Followed advice, par boiled in chicked stock and garlic cloves. Wisked olive oil, lemon juice and herbs. Drained and placed potatoes in baking dish. Poured oil and lemon mixture and tossed to coat. Oven 10 minutes, stirred and then another 10 minutes. Topped with feta cheese and fresh herbs - OUTSTANDING! Everyone gobbled it up! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristine B

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
It was really good... but the sauce was a bit soupy so I will probably thicken it a bit next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
These were AWESOME! Identical to the ones served at my favorite Greek restaurant. I followed the recipe exactly except I omitted the rosemary and was more than thrilled with the results. Even my boyfriend, who is very picky, went back for seconds. The lemon juice is a MUST here. 1/4 cup is the perfect amount. Although I would recommend cooking at least 2-2 1/2 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
Good for something different to do with potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
These pototoes turned out great. They were moist and tender and lemon flavor was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
these did not turn out the way I was hoping they would. the flavour was lacking and the texture was wrong. I won't be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MIKALA79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
I have to retry this...I think 2 hours was too long with the oven I used. They were kind of dry & b/c they were overcooked, it was hard to taste the olive oil mixtuere so I'll try again for a shorter length of time. I had a Greek roommate and her mom always brought this to us and it was delicious. I have high hopes for round 2!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
What a hit thanks for the wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dirtybutch

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: St.Thomas, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 388) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hasselback Potatoes

Swedish version of baked potatoes, this is the ultimate spud: tender and crisp.

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Oven-Roasted Potatoes

See how to make easy oven-roasted potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States