Greek Style Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
I made the potatoes almost as per the recipe. After reading the reviews, I tweaked a little. Used 6 yukon gold potatoes. Only 1 cup of veggie stock. More oregano and lemon then it called for and less olive oil. When they first came out oven I found them bland and just WRONG! And I 'm a pretty good cook so was really disappointed. They were too hot to throw out so I stashed them in the fridge till morning. I told my husband about the disaster and I that I was going to trow them out. He was said no! You aren't finished with them yet! He suggested that I pan fry them with some of the pan juice like they do at our favorite greek place. OMG! The most outstanding potato ever! I will absolutely make these again! If think you must refrigerate overnight in order to prevent over cooking. They were cold through so when put them in the hot pan they crisped beautifully without becoming soggy! YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Salty Susan

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
Delicious! Tasted just like the ones in a Greek restaurant. I used just oregano instead of the rosemary and thyme (not a fan of thyme) and they tasted just right. Would certainly make again. Very easy too. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
On the weeknights, I do not have 2 1/2 hours to get dinner on the table. I read a good deal of the reviews and I decided to boil my potatoes in chicken stock first to speed up the cooking time and also to add more flavor. By doing that, I obviously had to cut way back on oil and the water but I left everything else the same. These were simple to prepare and paired nicely with my Greek Marinated Kabobs from this site. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
I used bottled lemon juice and used a bit more than the recipe suggested and got very lemony potatoes. I also cooked mine in the microwave which took about 25 mins. I also found there was too much liquid but with a bit of velour in I turned the extra into a lemon sauce to go with the chicken which was wonderful. I also added an out 2 tsp of honey just to sweeten them up a little
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
Like swinging by your favorite Greek place for take out. Oh my goodness these were perfect. So easy. So delicious. Will be making them constantly. I would have posted a picture but they were gone before I could get one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
I chopped the potato pieces up to bite size pieces and cooked for about 45 minutes. These were perfect and everyone loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
Fabulous! For speed I quartered the potatos and microwaved til 3/4 done. Put in pan, I had sprayed, skin side down and poured sauce over the top. Baked at 400 for 15 min then turned to flesh side down and baked 15 more minutes. Crispy outside...fluffy inside. Excellent with the Souvlaki by Abby Benner also from this site. Hubby said the two together was one of his favorite meals ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cottage Grove, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
These were a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
Great and simple to do. Do not overlook potatoes though. Turn at least twice to get a browning on top
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
I decided to try this recipe and it was awesome..it also goes great with chicken or pork souvlaki as well as chicken brochette..try it tonight! Also I didn't use chicken stock or bouillon I just increased the lemon juice to my liking..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 382) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Oven-Roasted Potatoes

See how to make easy oven-roasted potatoes.

Fondant Potatoes

Impressive, perfect potatoes with tender, creamy insides and crispy edges.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States