Greek Style Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2008
After reading previous reviews I came up with a recipe that worked perfectly for me. I agreed with the lady that said there was no way she was going to cook potatoes for 2.5 hours! I have real good chicken soup base, where chicken is the first ingredient. The first thing I did was boil the potatoes in the chicken stock. Since some people commented that the potatoes were a little bland, I added a couple chunks of garlic to the stock. Between the stock and the garlic, I knew it would give the potatoes a great start. I cooked them until they were ALMOST done. Then I drained them and put them in a baking dish. In another bowl, I added the olive oil, (NO water!)zest of an entire big lemon after microwaving it for 30 seconds to make it juicier and all the contents of that lemon. I added fresh rosemary and thyme from my garden along with some Greek oregano and fresh ground black pepper and a little salt. I baked them uncovered for about half hour stirring them half way through and they were delicious! We had company for dinner I and wanted something to go with the Souvlaki and this was perfect! They had had lot of flavor and you could taste a hint of the lemon. They were as good as I've had in the Greek restaurants and they didn't take long to prepare! I'll definately be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
594 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DONNA1000

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lockport, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2005
The first time I made this recipe I followed the directions as stated.However, I used golden potatoes. The 2nd time I used the juice of one lemon, 3 bouillions. I was out of thyme so I used a tsp of oregano. About 10-15 min before they were done I pulled the lid off so that they would be a bit dryer like my fav greek restaurant. The potatoes were good the first time, GREAT the 2nd time. This is a definite keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
204 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2004
I didn't follow this recipe completely...so I am rating it on the changes that I made: added oregano and sea salt (to taste), used fresh rosemary chopped very fine (about 1/2 teaspoon), and subbed chicken broth for the water and boullion. I mixed everything (potatoes & seasonings, oil, etc.)together and then added only enough chicken broth to moisten everything (1 1/2 cups would be way too much in my opinion). Roasted them as directed...be sure to start testing at 1 hour if your potatoes are cut into small pieces. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
145 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carmichaels, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Suwanee, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2006
Great potatoes; however, I made changes based on other reviews. I only used half of the oil, half of the water, double the fresh lemon juice, used 3 cubes of vegetable bouillon, and used 4 garlic cloves. I also boiled the potatoes prior to placing them in the oven to boil off some of the starches and reduce cooking time. In the end, the potatoes still took about an hour and 10 minutes. The potatoes were amazingly delicious and would definitely make them again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carly Keating

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2003
WOW, all I can say is these are far better than any greek restaurant's lemon roasted potatoes. I cut back the water by half and two hours was perfect, and I tossed them three times during the cooking process. Thank you Cathie!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2003
Okay, I know I am in the minority, but we didn't like these. The had an odd taste that just didn't seem to match. I suspect it was the lemon. I will not make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2006
These are some mighty fine tastin' taters. I halved the recipe and used barely a Tbs olive oil, reduced the water by a 1/4C and subbed veggie bouillon cubes for the chicken-flavored. Only minor downfall is the bake time... didn't want the oven on for over an hour just for the potatoes, so I steamed them first in the microwave, then baked at 400 for 20 min. Taste great cold, too. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2002
Mmmm I love these potatoes! My boyfriend and I were always ordering out from a greek restaurant because we loved their potatoes so much. Now I finally found this recipes which is almost identical to the ones we got from the restaurant. Huge money saver! thanks to you and allrecipes.com!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2006
I loved this. I tweaked the recipe a little bit - adding three vegetarian boullion cubes instead of two chicken ones, and I used some vegetarian stock in place of some of the water (which I had reduced to 3/4 of a cup). I upped the temparature to 400 degrees, and baked for an hour - taking off the covering for the last fifteen minutes. It was absolutely fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
I found a ''key'' ingredient missing- ''OREGANO''! this is a simple must have ingredient when doing Greek Potatoes, or Grecian Chicken as well. I also prefer Yukon Gold potatoes, and just simply cutting them into wedges, spray a baking sheet with non stick- and coating the potatoes with extra virgin olive oil, parsley,Oregano, paprika, salt, pepper to taste-and fresh lemon juice cover and bake- and i add NOTHING else.. have made them this way for 21 years now- and get people wanting seconds and thirds..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 399) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Greek Lemon Chicken and Potatoes

This simple and inexpensive recipe is a proven crowd-pleaser.

Hasselback Potatoes

Swedish version of baked potatoes, this is the ultimate spud: tender and crisp.

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make the best creamy scalloped potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States