Greek Style Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
This recipie is great but DOES need changes. First and foremost reduce the water, do not use 1 1/2 cups I used about 1 cup (at most) another thing I changed was I used red potatoes which worked out very well and because red potatoes are small in size i used alot more than six about 11....Like the other comments said use more boullian and maybe add a bit more rosemary and thyme but definetly another clove of garlic. these potatoes are meant to be dry not moist and full of water. I also uncovered them at the end of cooking and they turned out excellent 1st time making these and will definetly make these again the family LOVED them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Venessa
Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
I thought these were delicious. I did take a shortcut because I didn't want to cook potatoes for 2 hours. I peeled the potatoes and boiled them in chicken broth and garlic until I could just pierce them with a fork. In a bowl I mixed the olive oil, lemon juice, lemon zest, fresh thyme, fresh rosemary, fresh oregano, salt & pepper. I strained the potatoes and moved them to a cookie sheet. I poured the olive oil mixture over the potatoes and baked them at 400F for 30 minutes, turning the potatoes after 15 minutes. I served the potatoes with a greek salad (with the Absolutely Fabulous Greek/House Dressing from this site) and Souvlaki from this site
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
My potatoes turned out a little dry, but the flavor was good. Would definitely try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
Great flavor. I used red potatoes and cooked for an hour and a half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Medina, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
Excellent base recipe. I used a 1.5 lb bag of fingerling potatoes and they were great. I used them whole but next time I will try thick slices. I par boiled them and cut baking time down to 25 minutes. I also used lemon pepper, extra garlic, less water, less oil. Important!! Zest the lemon and add the zest to the mix. YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vicky

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
This is a very yummy side dish, but I did have to adjust the cooking method to get the dish cooked in time for dinner. Rather than cook the potatoes in the oven the whole time I boiled them until about 1/2 done and then continued with the rest of the recipe (but of course left out the water). I really enjoyed the end result, but next time I'll add a bit more lemon (personal preference). Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
Followed advice, par boiled in chicked stock and garlic cloves. Wisked olive oil, lemon juice and herbs. Drained and placed potatoes in baking dish. Poured oil and lemon mixture and tossed to coat. Oven 10 minutes, stirred and then another 10 minutes. Topped with feta cheese and fresh herbs - OUTSTANDING! Everyone gobbled it up! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristine B

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
It was really good... but the sauce was a bit soupy so I will probably thicken it a bit next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
These were AWESOME! Identical to the ones served at my favorite Greek restaurant. I followed the recipe exactly except I omitted the rosemary and was more than thrilled with the results. Even my boyfriend, who is very picky, went back for seconds. The lemon juice is a MUST here. 1/4 cup is the perfect amount. Although I would recommend cooking at least 2-2 1/2 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
Good for something different to do with potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 402) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Greek Lemon Chicken and Potatoes

This simple and inexpensive recipe is a proven crowd-pleaser.

Hasselback Potatoes

Swedish version of baked potatoes, this is the ultimate spud: tender and crisp.

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make the best creamy scalloped potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States