Greek Style Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
I too found that the potatoes were soggy due to the amount of liquid that the recipe called for. Near the end, I drained off the liquid and put the oven on broil to crisp them up and found that they were delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
Made tonight - delicious! I didn't have any Rosemary so I just omitted it but they were still really good. I was a little worried that they would be soupy as it was a lot of liquid with the potatoes going in, but they turned out great in 90 minutes. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
First off I followed the directions of another poster: The first thing I did was boil the potatoes in the chicken stock. Since some people commented that the potatoes were a little bland, I added a couple chunks of garlic to the stock. Between the stock and the garlic, I knew it would give the potatoes a great start. I cooked them until they were ALMOST done. Then I drained them and put them in a baking dish. In another bowl, I added the olive oil, (NO water!)zest of an entire big lemon after microwaving it for 30 seconds to make it juicier and all the contents of that lemon. I added fresh rosemary and thyme from my garden along with some Greek oregano and fresh ground black pepper and a little salt. I baked them uncovered for about half hour stirring them half way through and they were delicious! I also cooked them with baby carrots and they were perfect. The potatos came out crispy on the outside and soft and fluffy inside! Ate this with the grecian pork recipe from this site and it was a lovely dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CATWALK16

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
These were some of the best potatoes I have ever had. I will be making these again very soon. My son even had seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sativa Higgins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
Father Eva and I adore these potatoes. Sometimes I add sliced carrots to the potatoes as they cook. I also like to add fresh whole mushrooms to the pan during the last fifteen minutes of cooking time. So delicious! I could eat the whole pan of these potatoes by myself, but sadly, I have to share.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
Our guests raved about these potatoes! I thought they would come out bland, but no, these are a must to any Greek entree served. The taste and texture were 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
This recipie is great but DOES need changes. First and foremost reduce the water, do not use 1 1/2 cups I used about 1 cup (at most) another thing I changed was I used red potatoes which worked out very well and because red potatoes are small in size i used alot more than six about 11....Like the other comments said use more boullian and maybe add a bit more rosemary and thyme but definetly another clove of garlic. these potatoes are meant to be dry not moist and full of water. I also uncovered them at the end of cooking and they turned out excellent 1st time making these and will definetly make these again the family LOVED them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Venessa
Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
I thought these were delicious. I did take a shortcut because I didn't want to cook potatoes for 2 hours. I peeled the potatoes and boiled them in chicken broth and garlic until I could just pierce them with a fork. In a bowl I mixed the olive oil, lemon juice, lemon zest, fresh thyme, fresh rosemary, fresh oregano, salt & pepper. I strained the potatoes and moved them to a cookie sheet. I poured the olive oil mixture over the potatoes and baked them at 400F for 30 minutes, turning the potatoes after 15 minutes. I served the potatoes with a greek salad (with the Absolutely Fabulous Greek/House Dressing from this site) and Souvlaki from this site
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
My potatoes turned out a little dry, but the flavor was good. Would definitely try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
Great flavor. I used red potatoes and cooked for an hour and a half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Medina, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 388) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hasselback Potatoes

Swedish version of baked potatoes, this is the ultimate spud: tender and crisp.

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Oven-Roasted Potatoes

See how to make easy oven-roasted potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States