Greek Style Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: May 24, 2010
OPA! Fabulous potatoes. Tasted really authentic. I was worried that there was too much liquid, but it soaked right in. BEAUTIFUL and easy side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2010
These were ok. Made the recipe exactly as written and we didn't taste any of the lemon juice. They were rather bland. May need to spice it up a bit more if I plan on making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K-Dub

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
These were really, really yummy and tasted just like the ones we've had at our favorite Greek restaurant. I doubled the amount of lemon and bouillion but kept the same amount of water, I thought it was good to have lots of liquid for the potatoes to "braise" in. Served with tofu broccoli quiche, salad, muffins and yogurt parfaits for a wonderful mother's day brunch. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
Excellent. You must use real lemon juice!! I served this with Lebanese chicken and it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Litherland

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: North Ridgeville, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
sorry to say.... nothing special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by newchefgirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
These potatoes were great. I used 3 cubes of chicken base and added some oregano and fresh garlic to the liquid base. I would highly suggest using half of the water called for. I also had to cook for 2 and 1/2 hours and took the cover off the last 15 minutes. I wil definately make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melissa.507

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Apple Valley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Kilkenny, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
Good change from the usual boiled potatoes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
These were good, however, they weren't at all crispy for me, since they cooked in the broth, and I found they lacked flavor. They kind of just tasted like oven-boiled potatoes. Mine also weren't all that Greek tasting, but that's probably because I didn't have lemon juice. I would like to try these again, because they definitely have potential, but I think they need the lemon juice and lots of garlic, and a different cooking method to get them more crispy. One other note - To cut the baking time down, I boiled them for a few minutes before pulling them out and popping them in the oven. Baking for an hour and a half or so just seemed way too long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by almondjoy2807

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seaside, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
These were delicious and received good reviews from my dinner guests (which included some picky eaters). I did not have rosemary so I used Italian seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
My only problem with this recipe is that it requires 2.5 hours in the oven...therefore, I boiled the potatoes like another reviewer had advised in the chicken broth with the garlic until almost done then finished them off in the oven for 15-20 minutes. I added some water to what I still had in my pot and made a delicious rice! Served with an Israeli spice rub chicken, it was at least 5x better than our favorite Greek restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 379) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Oven-Roasted Potatoes

See how to make easy oven-roasted potatoes.

Fondant Potatoes

Impressive, perfect potatoes with tender, creamy insides and crispy edges.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States