Greek Style Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
sorry to say.... nothing special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by newchefgirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
These potatoes were great. I used 3 cubes of chicken base and added some oregano and fresh garlic to the liquid base. I would highly suggest using half of the water called for. I also had to cook for 2 and 1/2 hours and took the cover off the last 15 minutes. I wil definately make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melissa.507

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Apple Valley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Kilkenny, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
Good change from the usual boiled potatoes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
These were good, however, they weren't at all crispy for me, since they cooked in the broth, and I found they lacked flavor. They kind of just tasted like oven-boiled potatoes. Mine also weren't all that Greek tasting, but that's probably because I didn't have lemon juice. I would like to try these again, because they definitely have potential, but I think they need the lemon juice and lots of garlic, and a different cooking method to get them more crispy. One other note - To cut the baking time down, I boiled them for a few minutes before pulling them out and popping them in the oven. Baking for an hour and a half or so just seemed way too long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by almondjoy2807

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seaside, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
These were delicious and received good reviews from my dinner guests (which included some picky eaters). I did not have rosemary so I used Italian seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
My only problem with this recipe is that it requires 2.5 hours in the oven...therefore, I boiled the potatoes like another reviewer had advised in the chicken broth with the garlic until almost done then finished them off in the oven for 15-20 minutes. I added some water to what I still had in my pot and made a delicious rice! Served with an Israeli spice rub chicken, it was at least 5x better than our favorite Greek restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
Very easy and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
The taste is good, although I would use half of the water next time. Mine were done after one hour; i left them in the oven for 15 minutes uncovered because they were too watery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Quito, Pichincha, Ecuador

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
What a delicious way to eat potatoes! I increased the chicken bouillon to three cubes, used oregano instead of rosemary, added a little salt, and served the potatoes with feta cheese. I wasn't in a hurry, so I didn't try an alternate cooking method as many reviewers did. It's actually somewhat convenient that these take so long to cook because if you're making a meal with several different dishes, you can start this one well in advance and not have to do as much juggling right before the meal. I cut the potatoes in fairly small pieces and I think they still took about 2 hours to cook, so make sure to plan ahead. The only problem I had was that my husband, who is on a diet, thought these smelled way too tempting and forbade me to make them again unless he's allowed to eat them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
I was very excited to try these because I am a huge lover of greek style potatoes. Unfortunately, this recipe doesn`t even come close. I have to say that I was disappointed in the strong lemon taste. Now, if you are a person that really loves lemon, these potatoes would be a sure thing. Thanks for sharing the recipe. Even though these potatoes weren`t quite what I was looking for, I can say that they do hold much flavor and smell fantastic while baking in the oven. Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cornwall Cook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 375) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Oven-Roasted Potatoes

See how to make easy oven-roasted potatoes.

Fondant Potatoes

Impressive, perfect potatoes with tender, creamy insides and crispy edges.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States