Greek Style Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
Definitely could have cut down on the water, but other than that this was a pretty good recipe. I had to triple it, as I was having quite a few guests over, and it took just over 2 hours to cook. That was fine with me, as we had appetizers in the meantime, but I can see that amount of time being an issue on other occasions. The potatoes weren't very lemon-y, actually. I found the rosemary stronger than anything. Some guests mentioned they preferred that, as they didn't like too much lemon flavouring on potatoes. But to be honest I would have preferred a more strong lemon taste. Probably just a personal preference. Taking one star off for the amount of time it takes and the crazy amount of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
Delicious. Very simple, the hardest part is waiting for them to cook. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
Just like at a Greek restaurant! :) My tummy was happy after eating this. If you prefer your potatoes to be less dry though, I'd recommend adding more liquids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
So good! I too boiled my potato wedges in some vegetable/lemon broth before putting them into the oven to bake. I kept the lemon juice in the dressing and it turned out AMAZING! Crispy on the outside and fluffy on the inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by traceyposner

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
Very nice. Ate at a Greek restaurant last night and loved their roast potatoes, went looking for a recipe and found this one. The only change I made was to cook the potatoes at 450 for 50 minutes instead of 350 for 2 hours, and I turned them once at about 20 minutes. Came out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
Great recipe,will make again an added with sprinkle of parm cheese on top!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
These were really yummy. I didn't have 2+ hours though, so I boiled in broth with garlic and then tossed in a lot of lemon juice, Greek seasoning, oregano, salt and pepper, thyme and rosemary. Baked at 350 for about 30 minutes, turning once! Delish! Hubby loved them, will try the original way next time when I have more time! Thanks! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARAHCANADA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
awesome flavour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalynn Sinnamon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
I made the potatoes almost as per the recipe. After reading the reviews, I tweaked a little. Used 6 yukon gold potatoes. Only 1 cup of veggie stock. More oregano and lemon then it called for and less olive oil. When they first came out oven I found them bland and just WRONG! And I 'm a pretty good cook so was really disappointed. They were too hot to throw out so I stashed them in the fridge till morning. I told my husband about the disaster and I that I was going to trow them out. He was said no! You aren't finished with them yet! He suggested that I pan fry them with some of the pan juice like they do at our favorite greek place. OMG! The most outstanding potato ever! I will absolutely make these again! If think you must refrigerate overnight in order to prevent over cooking. They were cold through so when put them in the hot pan they crisped beautifully without becoming soggy! YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
Delicious! Tasted just like the ones in a Greek restaurant. I used just oregano instead of the rosemary and thyme (not a fan of thyme) and they tasted just right. Would certainly make again. Very easy too. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 380) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Oven-Roasted Potatoes

See how to make easy oven-roasted potatoes.

Fondant Potatoes

Impressive, perfect potatoes with tender, creamy insides and crispy edges.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States