Greek Squid (Soupies) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
Well I haven't tried this yet but it sounds yummylicious!:) We'll see,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2004
Although i found the cooking time needed to reduce the sauce was longer than stated, it was WELL WORTH the time it took. It turned out absolutely sublime, the sauce was very piquant and flavourful. I threw some chopped cilantro on the top to serve, and some creamy mashed potato on the side and it was awesome, my husband, who is a big seafood lover, was very impressed. This one is a keeper, I will definately be making it again. Thank you Maria, for a truly awesome recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
MMMMM, this was easy and good. It did take more time than the recipe suggested (as noted by others). It took much more than 10 minutes for the juice to reduce (at the point before you add the wine). Still, it was just lots of simmering--not much to it. Tangy and tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
easy to make, i used red and green peppers (to add nutritional value) and i put a pinch of smoked paprika -- which gave it a real seafood-y smell and taste. served with rice - perfect meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aminarose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2009
I added a tin of tomatos to make it a bit more sustantial (remember something similiar from long lost Elizabeth Davidson book). Get its a great find as a recipe. I always keep a couple of packs of frozen squid in the freezer. Also goes great with fries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jane r

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
I believe this recipe is for cuttlefish rather than squid (judging by the "soupies" in the title as well), although it's tasty when made with squid too. It's well worth trying it with cuttlefish if it's available at your local fishmonger's/fish market.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
Didn't dare to use cinnamon and cloves and couldn't find malt vinegar. I used instead balsamic vinegar and it was really tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
The sauce was wonderful -- it was great on rice, and I think it would be great on a bunch of different items. The squid was also quite good -- I've never cooked squid myself, and I was a little nervous, but everything went very well. My only problem is that the smell of squid stuck to EVERYTHING. That's what I get for cooking in a studio apartment... Seriously, it's been weeks, and I can still pick up a hint of squid sticking to the walls in my place. It's awful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by itchcat
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
The sauce was spicy but it was missing something. I added chicken bouillon for better taste. I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

How to Make Seafood Paella

See how to make a traditional Spanish seafood stew.

Puerto Rican Codfish Stew

What's cooking in Allentown? Milly's authentic stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States