Greek Spaghetti I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
Mr. LTH enjoyed this and was surprised when I told him we'd never be having it again... We'll never have it again because I CAN'T STOP EATING IT and there's zero nutritional value to the dish. It's tastes decadent (how can you go wrong w/butter, cheese, and pasta...?) and I had a hard time stopping myself from finishing the pan. That being said, I can't imagine using margarine and garlic salt (unless I was in a pinch; they'd they'd work, for sure). I used butter (and only 1/2 the amount called) and minced garlic (nuked together to melt the butter; it'd be every better sautéing together) instead. My shredded cheese was a mix of mozzarella and provolone, so I used 2 total cups and 1/2 C of fresh grated Romano. I also added a pinch of crushed red pepper to the cheese mixture (and would add more I it had been just me eating). The only other small issue I had was the "medium" baking dish; I've no clue what that means. I used an 8X8 square glass dish and it fit perfectly. THANKS for the recipe (not from my hips...)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
This is a good use-up-your-left-overs kind of recipe. I made some additions and changes that turned out great! 1) I sauteed crushed garlic in 1/4 c. butter. 2) I added left over baked chicken that I cut up into cubes. 3). Added a 1/2 cup of frozen spinach. 4) I used white American, mozzarella and parm b/c that's what I had on hand. Great recipe! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PoeticLisence

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly as stated (except using butter instead of margarine) and it came out tasteless. Not even real minced garlic or the best cheese could save this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
This was sooo delicious! My kids loved it! The only thing different I did was substituting five minced cloves of garlic for the garlic powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keanu
Reviewed: May 16, 2009
This recipe is a good base recipe... and it's as good as you make it. For the garlic butter, if you use margarine and garlic powder, it's going to taste like margarine and garlic powder... kinda like the frozen garlic bread you get at the grocery. If you want a more upscale flavor, use real butter and minced roasted garlic. A half cup of butter is a LOT of butter, so you might want to cut that back. I only used 2 Tbsp butter and found it to be fine. Also keep in mind you're using a lot of cheese which will release some fat when it's cooked. If just cheese and pasta sounds a little rich (I thought it was) feel free to toss in veggies of your choice. I like artichoke hearts, sun dried tomatoes, kalamata olives, onion, spinach, etc. Overall it's a good dish, and a nice change from the same old spaghetti.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Hooper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: New Albany, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
Delicious! We had a few additions to the recipe, otherwise we followed it exactly. We added 1 1/2 fresh diced Roma Tomatoes, tons of garlic (as we are fiends), and 1/2 of an uncooked medium sized white onion to the cheese then added as directed. Next time we are going to add about 1/4 pound of mozzarella cheese and some green chilies. Defiantly a very flexible recipe as far as additions go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2Morrows

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2008
My Family love this dish. I am not much of a cook,but this was so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
This was good but I made some changes to give it more flavor. I melted 1/4 cup of butter and added 2 tsp of garlic salt (the garlic salt I have has added parsley and salts) and basil. After the noodles were done I coated the noodles with the butter/spice mix. The cheese I used was Kraft - Italian - 5 cheese. Has Mozzarella, Provolone, Romano, Asiago and Parmesan. I layerd the noodles and cheese in a 9" glass pie pan. Cooked at 400 F for about 30 minutes. I used 8 oz of noodles. Goooood. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
This is good. I did make a couple changes though. I cut back on the butter (used butter, not marg) because a couple people said it was greasy. And, like a reviewer before me suggested, I used a bunch of roasted garlic (2 big heads actually) It was very simple to make, and turned out well. Pasta, cheese and butter! How can you go wrong? :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Wolnowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queen Charlotte, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2006
This was quite nice, except I would suggest butter instead of margarine (I think it tastes better), and real garlic to enhance the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Lighter Spaghetti Alfredo

See how to make a lighter version of Alfredo with cauliflower.

Spaghetti Carbonara II

Bacon, eggs and pasta--what's not to like?

Greek Green Beans

Green beans simmer with tomatoes and onions until tender and yummy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States