Greek Souzoukaklia Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by cooks 4 3
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
Burnt it a bit but the husband didn't notice. Next time I'll grill it at a lower temp. I made these into burgers the next time and served them in buns...amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooks 4 3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mission, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
Your recipe for "souzoukakia" is very good. This recipe is the original greek recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chrismother
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
Very good! Just a few minor changes. I used dried cranberries instead of raisins b/c I had them on hand. Love them! I shaped these into meatballs & cooked them in a frying pan instead of the grill. Then, I let them sit in a low heat oven for about 30 minutes while I got the rest of the food ready. This allowed for more of the fat to drain out, while the meatballs still remained moist & delicious. I will make these again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alyson Jones

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
This was really good. I had to omit the raisins as I am diabetic and they are not good for me but it was tasty anyways. I added cumin for a little more flavor and grilled them on the skewers, but they fell off the skewers so they became long burgers. Oh well, it didn't change the flavor. I also roasted some whole sweet potatoes with the meat and added some steamed dijon broccoli to make a complete meal. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Wakefield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2008
What a great way to change up ground beef. I served it with tzatziki sauce and pita, was a huge hit. Later I thought some sliced Vidalia onions would have make the sandwich perfect. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooks4forty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2008
I found this to be a little bland, which is unusual for me since I don't like a huge amount of spices. I really liked the sweetness of the raisins, so I will increase the raisins (which I added whole) and maybe some more spice. Maybe the difference was the fact I didn't have fresh parsley, so I used dried. It was a nice way to use ground beef without having burgers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
Great flavor, easy to make. A definite winner for an unusual barbeque.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Falls Church, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2007
Use a high-quality meat--the ground beef I used was a bit on the tough side. I would mince up the onion before adding, versus chopping. I tried making burgers out of these, but I think they would work better as skewers as the recipe calls for. Good flavor, though. I would try again with some tzatziki sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2007
This is very good. I always use ground turkey. Also, I highly recommend that you mix this up ahead of time, preferably the day before, so that the flavors of the spices have time to permeate the meat. It makes a huge difference! I serve this with pita, lettuce, cucumbers, tomatoes, garlic sauce, and tzaziki sauce. Favorite sides are tabbouli and hummus. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
what a unique flavour! The only thing that I would make sure of for next time is to chop the onions fine! No big chunks. I formed my meat mixture into patties and did them on the foreman grill, did not add the sugar and also I didn't have raisins so I added chopped dates! I will definately make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cabo San Lucas, Baja California Sur, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Greek Chicken

See how to make simple Greek-inspired grilled chicken.

Greek Chicken Kozani

See how to make a savory Greek-inspired chicken dish with prunes and paprika.

Greek Chicken Pasta

See how to make Greek-style pasta with chicken and artichokes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States