Greek Slow Cooker Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
This was very good! I did make a few changes. I left the skin on just because I was too lazy to pull it off. I did not have any lemon so I used a few drops of lemon juice. The meat was very tender and fell right off the bone. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
AWESOME! So small things I did differently: I used a 6lb roaster I got on sale (The kind with the pop-up timer)and I did NOT remove the skin, and I also added carrots. Since the potatoes are sliced pretty thick, I only cut my carrots into thirds. I cooked it on high set for 6 hours, but the timer popped after 5. It was falling off the bone and cooked perfectly, as were the potatoes and carrots! There was so much juice in the pan I decided to throw together a quick gravy, melted about 2 tablespoons of butter in a saucepan and whisked in about 3 tablespoons of flour for the roux, then added about a cup of the liquid a little at a time. There's just so many great flavors going on in that juice between the onion and the garlic and the lemon! My only critique is that it probably doesn't need the olive oil or maybe only half as much. The lemon flavor was there but subtle, not strong or overpowering at all. I'll definitely make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb H

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lynn, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
This was so good. I would probably add some more potatoes next time because they soaked up the flavors so well and made an excellent side. I actually kept the skin on and massaged kosher salt, oregano and minced garlic underneath to add more flavor and it turned out being a hit at home. And to the reviewer who said Greeks don't use lemons, umm I don't know which Greeks you are talking about, but we use lemon ALOT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by randyHOD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
I was very pleased at how this recipe turned out. I was a little wary reading the reviews that stated there was too strong a lemon flavor and that the chicken was dry, but I went for it anyway and made the recipe as directed. The only (minor) change I made was that I had to use a chicken that was nearly 4 pounds because I could not find a 3 pound one. It was relatively difficult to get the skin off the chicken, but not impossible. I cooked this on low for about 9 hours while we were at work. When I came home, the chicken was incredibly tender; as I lifted it out of the cooker, it fell totally apart! So I suppose presentation-wise, it may not look as nice as would be ideal. The flavor of both the chicken and potatoes was neither too strong nor too light in my opinion. I don't really know that any changes are needed to this recipe, except maybe some additional veggies could be thrown in if you like, such as carrots. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkstevens09

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ortonville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
I made this with only minor changes. I seasoned the chicken with Cavendar's Greek Seasoning along with the oregano. I cut out the salt and pepper seasoning as the Cavendar's already has it. I also added some good quality Greek olives. I skinned the chicken just as instructed which is much better because the flavors can reach the meat. It was moist and tender. My husband and I thought this was absolutely scrumptious! It's a keeper in my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
I made this for supper last night using a 5lb, frozen, whole chicken, since that was what I had on hand.I wasn't too sure how it would turn out as I had to wait an hour for it to thaw (in the cooker) before I could fill the cavity, as the recipe suggested. The results were absolutely delicious!! Perfect blend of flavors. My husband and I enjoyed it . I will definitely be making this again. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
I made 2 minor changes: I only used about 2 tbsp of oil (adding a touch more water), and we didnt bother to skin the chicken. The skin helps hold moisture in and it's easier to peel the skin off during the carving, rather than when it's raw. This was EXCELLENT! The overall flavor was pretty light, but not bland. There was a bit of lemon, but my husband and I thought it was just right. We drizzled a little juice on the chicken before serving, and I'm freezing the leftover juices for soup or rice another day. It's so good! When I got home from work the whole house smelled great and the dog was sitting by the counter just staring at the slow cooker! I felt bad that she had to smell that awesomeness all day, so I gave her a tiny taste and she just went nuts, she loved it! Excellent recipe for the whole family :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
OMG! this came from my crockpot! So good and flavorful, I will DEFINITELLY make this again and again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
INCREDIBLE! The chicken was very moist and flavorful! I did modify it per the previous reviews though to make it more moist. I left the skin on and seasoned with lemon pepper under and on top of the skin. I broiled the whole chicken before putting it in the pot breast down. Also I increased the measurement of the wine ( 1/2 cup) and added 1/2 cup chicken broth in leu of the bullion. I cooked it on low for 9hrs ( so nice when dinner cooks whilst you're at work!) I omitted the potatoes but that was more personal preference than anything. Husband loved it, will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
This is very tasty! Did not remove skin but placed Greek Seasoning under skin. Used bottled lemon juice since I had no lemons. Used minced garlic not fresh also used 1 full teaspoon of chicken paste. Did not put in any potatoes. I will make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Slow Cooker Chicken

See how to make juicy “baked” chicken in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Lemon Garlic Chicken

Meet the perfect weeknight one-pot chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker Adobo Chicken

See how to make easy, slow-cooked chicken in a tangy adobo sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States