Greek Slow Cooker Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
Delicious!! The chicken was so tender and moist!! I didn't have any white wine, so I added H2O, however next time I'll just add chicken broth.. And at the end I needed to add a little more salt, but this will definately be made again!!! Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
I personally haven't even tasted this yet, but the meat is falling off of the bone! I have never had chicken this moist and tender. My husband said that it needed some more seasonings, but this could be because we had a 5 lb chicken but used the 3 lb recipe ingredients. Will make this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
I wanted to like this dish, but it just didn't work for me. The lemon overpowered all the other ingredients. The potatoes were soggy. The chicken was also unappealing to the eye. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
Greek Slow Cooker Chicken Haiku: "Chicken crockpot fail. I had such high hopes for this. But it was no good." I'll give this 2 stars b/c despite the effort of skinning the chicken (blech), coming home from work to a crockpot meal that's ready is a nice convenience. The potatoes at the bottom absorbed all the flavor and juices (a little overwhelming on the lemon) and were too soggy, in my opinion. The breast-side of the chicken was inedible, it was so unbelievably Saharan. It was also very visually unappealing. The lower portion of the chicken that sat in more of the broth was moist, so I shredded it from the bone and am hoping to salvage it into a pita w/ feta cheese and veggies for lunch today, but truth be told, most of these leftovers will be getting tossed. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
This was very good! I did make a few changes. I left the skin on just because I was too lazy to pull it off. I did not have any lemon so I used a few drops of lemon juice. The meat was very tender and fell right off the bone. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
I was very pleased at how this recipe turned out. I was a little wary reading the reviews that stated there was too strong a lemon flavor and that the chicken was dry, but I went for it anyway and made the recipe as directed. The only (minor) change I made was that I had to use a chicken that was nearly 4 pounds because I could not find a 3 pound one. It was relatively difficult to get the skin off the chicken, but not impossible. I cooked this on low for about 9 hours while we were at work. When I came home, the chicken was incredibly tender; as I lifted it out of the cooker, it fell totally apart! So I suppose presentation-wise, it may not look as nice as would be ideal. The flavor of both the chicken and potatoes was neither too strong nor too light in my opinion. I don't really know that any changes are needed to this recipe, except maybe some additional veggies could be thrown in if you like, such as carrots. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkstevens09

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ortonville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
I made this with only minor changes. I seasoned the chicken with Cavendar's Greek Seasoning along with the oregano. I cut out the salt and pepper seasoning as the Cavendar's already has it. I also added some good quality Greek olives. I skinned the chicken just as instructed which is much better because the flavors can reach the meat. It was moist and tender. My husband and I thought this was absolutely scrumptious! It's a keeper in my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2011
Super easy and very good! Only thing I changed was I used skinless boneless breast and no onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsPestana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
I would really give this 3.5 stars if possible. It was easy to throw together and smelled great. It looked unappetizing (watery/greasy) when done in the pot, but plated well and tasted pretty good. My mother, who is very choosey with her food, loved it. I thought it would have been better if the potatoes had been cooked seperately, since lemon-flavored potatoes seemed odd to me. They were fine the first day, but became more lemony as leftovers, and were mostly thrown out. The excess sauce was good enough to throw into broth I was also making. I will make again, but I'll probably just boil potatoes on the stove. The seasoning is quite good for chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
Some changes: Lose the lemon! Greeks don't use them. Leave the skin on to keep the breasts moist. Season with Cavender's Greek Seasoning or salt, pepper, garlic, oregano, rosemary and thyme. Don't overcook it! The chicken bouillon is loaded with MSG! I don't let it in my kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PastorJim

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clinton, Missouri, USA
Living In: Flippin, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Slow Cooker Chicken

See how to make juicy “baked” chicken in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Lemon Garlic Chicken

Meet the perfect weeknight one-pot chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker Adobo Chicken

See how to make easy, slow-cooked chicken in a tangy adobo sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States