Greek Slow Cooker Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
AWESOME! So small things I did differently: I used a 6lb roaster I got on sale (The kind with the pop-up timer)and I did NOT remove the skin, and I also added carrots. Since the potatoes are sliced pretty thick, I only cut my carrots into thirds. I cooked it on high set for 6 hours, but the timer popped after 5. It was falling off the bone and cooked perfectly, as were the potatoes and carrots! There was so much juice in the pan I decided to throw together a quick gravy, melted about 2 tablespoons of butter in a saucepan and whisked in about 3 tablespoons of flour for the roux, then added about a cup of the liquid a little at a time. There's just so many great flavors going on in that juice between the onion and the garlic and the lemon! My only critique is that it probably doesn't need the olive oil or maybe only half as much. The lemon flavor was there but subtle, not strong or overpowering at all. I'll definitely make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb H

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lynn, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
GREEKS DO USE LEMON. They use lots of lemon and lots of salt. Authentic kotopoulo me potates has salt oil lemon and oregano and is baked in the oven. This version is moist but the potatoes are a little too soft. chicken was nice and juicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
OMG! this came from my crockpot! So good and flavorful, I will DEFINITELLY make this again and again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
Some changes: Lose the lemon! Greeks don't use them. Leave the skin on to keep the breasts moist. Season with Cavender's Greek Seasoning or salt, pepper, garlic, oregano, rosemary and thyme. Don't overcook it! The chicken bouillon is loaded with MSG! I don't let it in my kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PastorJim

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clinton, Missouri, USA
Living In: Flippin, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
I would really give this 3.5 stars if possible. It was easy to throw together and smelled great. It looked unappetizing (watery/greasy) when done in the pot, but plated well and tasted pretty good. My mother, who is very choosey with her food, loved it. I thought it would have been better if the potatoes had been cooked seperately, since lemon-flavored potatoes seemed odd to me. They were fine the first day, but became more lemony as leftovers, and were mostly thrown out. The excess sauce was good enough to throw into broth I was also making. I will make again, but I'll probably just boil potatoes on the stove. The seasoning is quite good for chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2011
Super easy and very good! Only thing I changed was I used skinless boneless breast and no onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsPestana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
I made this with only minor changes. I seasoned the chicken with Cavendar's Greek Seasoning along with the oregano. I cut out the salt and pepper seasoning as the Cavendar's already has it. I also added some good quality Greek olives. I skinned the chicken just as instructed which is much better because the flavors can reach the meat. It was moist and tender. My husband and I thought this was absolutely scrumptious! It's a keeper in my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
I was very pleased at how this recipe turned out. I was a little wary reading the reviews that stated there was too strong a lemon flavor and that the chicken was dry, but I went for it anyway and made the recipe as directed. The only (minor) change I made was that I had to use a chicken that was nearly 4 pounds because I could not find a 3 pound one. It was relatively difficult to get the skin off the chicken, but not impossible. I cooked this on low for about 9 hours while we were at work. When I came home, the chicken was incredibly tender; as I lifted it out of the cooker, it fell totally apart! So I suppose presentation-wise, it may not look as nice as would be ideal. The flavor of both the chicken and potatoes was neither too strong nor too light in my opinion. I don't really know that any changes are needed to this recipe, except maybe some additional veggies could be thrown in if you like, such as carrots. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkstevens09

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ortonville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
This was very good! I did make a few changes. I left the skin on just because I was too lazy to pull it off. I did not have any lemon so I used a few drops of lemon juice. The meat was very tender and fell right off the bone. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
Greek Slow Cooker Chicken Haiku: "Chicken crockpot fail. I had such high hopes for this. But it was no good." I'll give this 2 stars b/c despite the effort of skinning the chicken (blech), coming home from work to a crockpot meal that's ready is a nice convenience. The potatoes at the bottom absorbed all the flavor and juices (a little overwhelming on the lemon) and were too soggy, in my opinion. The breast-side of the chicken was inedible, it was so unbelievably Saharan. It was also very visually unappealing. The lower portion of the chicken that sat in more of the broth was moist, so I shredded it from the bone and am hoping to salvage it into a pita w/ feta cheese and veggies for lunch today, but truth be told, most of these leftovers will be getting tossed. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Slow Cooker Chicken

See how to make juicy “baked” chicken in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Lemon Garlic Chicken

Meet the perfect weeknight one-pot chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker Adobo Chicken

See how to make easy, slow-cooked chicken in a tangy adobo sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States