Greek Slow Cooker Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
Meh...pretty plain tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
This tastes amazing! I used russet potatoes instead of red potatoes, omitted the onion, and used chicken breasts that I shredded it up because it was so tender. I will definatley make again! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sa5m

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
This is very tasty! Did not remove skin but placed Greek Seasoning under skin. Used bottled lemon juice since I had no lemons. Used minced garlic not fresh also used 1 full teaspoon of chicken paste. Did not put in any potatoes. I will make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
I made 2 minor changes: I only used about 2 tbsp of oil (adding a touch more water), and we didnt bother to skin the chicken. The skin helps hold moisture in and it's easier to peel the skin off during the carving, rather than when it's raw. This was EXCELLENT! The overall flavor was pretty light, but not bland. There was a bit of lemon, but my husband and I thought it was just right. We drizzled a little juice on the chicken before serving, and I'm freezing the leftover juices for soup or rice another day. It's so good! When I got home from work the whole house smelled great and the dog was sitting by the counter just staring at the slow cooker! I felt bad that she had to smell that awesomeness all day, so I gave her a tiny taste and she just went nuts, she loved it! Excellent recipe for the whole family :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
INCREDIBLE! The chicken was very moist and flavorful! I did modify it per the previous reviews though to make it more moist. I left the skin on and seasoned with lemon pepper under and on top of the skin. I broiled the whole chicken before putting it in the pot breast down. Also I increased the measurement of the wine ( 1/2 cup) and added 1/2 cup chicken broth in leu of the bullion. I cooked it on low for 9hrs ( so nice when dinner cooks whilst you're at work!) I omitted the potatoes but that was more personal preference than anything. Husband loved it, will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
I made this for supper last night using a 5lb, frozen, whole chicken, since that was what I had on hand.I wasn't too sure how it would turn out as I had to wait an hour for it to thaw (in the cooker) before I could fill the cavity, as the recipe suggested. The results were absolutely delicious!! Perfect blend of flavors. My husband and I enjoyed it . I will definitely be making this again. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
This was so good. I would probably add some more potatoes next time because they soaked up the flavors so well and made an excellent side. I actually kept the skin on and massaged kosher salt, oregano and minced garlic underneath to add more flavor and it turned out being a hit at home. And to the reviewer who said Greeks don't use lemons, umm I don't know which Greeks you are talking about, but we use lemon ALOT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by randyHOD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
AWESOME! So small things I did differently: I used a 6lb roaster I got on sale (The kind with the pop-up timer)and I did NOT remove the skin, and I also added carrots. Since the potatoes are sliced pretty thick, I only cut my carrots into thirds. I cooked it on high set for 6 hours, but the timer popped after 5. It was falling off the bone and cooked perfectly, as were the potatoes and carrots! There was so much juice in the pan I decided to throw together a quick gravy, melted about 2 tablespoons of butter in a saucepan and whisked in about 3 tablespoons of flour for the roux, then added about a cup of the liquid a little at a time. There's just so many great flavors going on in that juice between the onion and the garlic and the lemon! My only critique is that it probably doesn't need the olive oil or maybe only half as much. The lemon flavor was there but subtle, not strong or overpowering at all. I'll definitely make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb H

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lynn, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
GREEKS DO USE LEMON. They use lots of lemon and lots of salt. Authentic kotopoulo me potates has salt oil lemon and oregano and is baked in the oven. This version is moist but the potatoes are a little too soft. chicken was nice and juicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
OMG! this came from my crockpot! So good and flavorful, I will DEFINITELLY make this again and again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Slow Cooker Chicken

See how to make juicy “baked” chicken in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States