Greek Slow Cooker Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
This was easy and delicious. I did only bone-in chicken breast (which were practically frozen) and left out the veggies. I probably used less olive oil, but left the other measurements the same. It was in the slow cooker for almost 9 hours on low, and the meat was very tender and fell off the bone. It was great alongside a salad and broccoli for dinner, and then I used the leftovers for salads throughout the week. I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
I love Greek seasoning and had higher hopes for this dish. It was alright, but I thought a little bland. I didn't have a lemon, but sprinkled lemon juice inside the cavity and on the outside. I used a cup of chicken broth instead of the boullion granules. I'm also concerned about the MSG in boullion. It didn't need quite that much liquid. Maybe 1/2 cup and adding a little salt would have been good. With a little tweaking, I may try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plainfield, Indiana, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
I followed the recipe as written + some greek seasoning. Was NOT a hit in my family. The flavors were good, but everyone found the potatoes too mushy and the chicken too dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
Very flavorful, juicy and tender! I did like so many others recommended and used Cavenders Greek Seasoning because I keep it on hand, it is the perfect all around spice combination. I added extra garlic because we love it, and this was a wonderful dish! Just the right thing for my "meat & potatoes" kind of guy...Thanks reviewers for the hints!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OdaMae

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
We enjoyed this recipe, however I used chicken thighs with the bone as the meat. The meat was very tender and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
I love big bold flavours and was encouraged when I read the reviews. I used thighs and drumbsticks (not a chicken breast fan at all), added more lemon, a bay leaf, organic chicken broth, and some thai chili for a little kick. Cooked on high for 6 hours which turned out to be perfect. However - this dish was as boring as it gets. Had to use Colmans mustard for some flavour. Not worth the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by v

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
Not bad, good flavoring. I used lemon juice instead of the lemon and a little less oregano.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
I followed the recipe as written and did not care for it. The chicken AND potatoes were like mush. My husband will eat almost anything but not this. And yes, Greeks love lemon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Pleasanton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
Im giving this 4 stars cuz they have the right idea but this is what I do different. I have the butcher break down the chicken for me and then season with salt and pepper and brown in a skillet in olive oil, place in crockpot on top of onion and garlic slices(potatoes sliced too if using, we like this over orzo or rice), deglaze pan with wine and pour on top of chicken, sprinkle with oregano and top with lemon slices, add 1/4 cup chicken stock and cook on low 7hrs or high 3 or 4hrs, this is delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medford, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
I don't understand how Pastor Jim said to lose the lemon cause greeks dont use it? is that a joke? greeks LOVE lemon and usually use too much of it! i modified this a bit and put red onion instead of white, no white wine cause i didnt have any and i also put garlic and onion powder as well as 1/4 cup chopped celery and dried basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jacquelinefranco_xoxo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Slow Cooker Chicken

See how to make juicy “baked” chicken in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Lemon Garlic Chicken

Meet the perfect weeknight one-pot chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker Adobo Chicken

See how to make easy, slow-cooked chicken in a tangy adobo sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States