Greek Salad V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2006
This was another great salad. I left out the olives, and it still worked for me. I had to add lettuce, even though I know traditional Greek salads don't use it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2006
This was just ok for me. I made exactly as written except I substituted chopped black olives for the Kalamata olives. The salad looked great until I added the oregano. 2 T was way too much and the salad didn't really need 2 T of olive oil either. Next time I make it, I'll decrease both the oregano and the olive oil. I made this for a Greek-themed girl's night and ended up with a lot of leftovers that we threw away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2006
This was a wonderful Greek salad recipe! I left out the green pepper as I am not used to it in Greek salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenna F.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2007
I just returned from a tour of Greece and the islands. This salad is just like the one we had in many greek restaurants and on the ship. 2 tablespoons of oregano appears to be an overkill. The salad responds well to just about any Italian type dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
Excellent salad,with an excellent, fresh and light dressing. To make it a tossed, garden salad I added Romaine lettuce. Loved the hint of oregano.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
22 November 2007, Thanksgiving Day ~ Of all the dishes we had today for our Thanksgiving dinner, this GREEK SALAD V was by far the best! It's like eating a breath of fresh air...so light and tasty! I visited Athens and some of the Greek Islands a few years ago. My favorite food there was the Greek Salad...and this one was SUPERLATIVE and tasted just like those I had in Greece. Additionally, it's such a colorful dish. Nothing can compare to the combination of feta cheese, tomatoes, cucumbers, red onions and Kalamata olives. Oooh, it's after 8pm and yet that makes me want to get into the frig and eat some of the Greek Salad V leftovers. NOTE: I didn't layer the salad. Instead I just mixed it all when first made so the flavors could blend. Ciao, Poni (rhymes with Bonnie)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
I just can't tell you how much I loved this salad! The only changes I made were to use a regular cucumber, omitted the green pepper and used halved cherry tomatoes and regular olives. My husband and I ate it all. I made it again the very next night and made a double batch. It's been about a week and I can't wait to make it again. LOVE LOVE LOVE IT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pikeville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
This is just like the salads we were served all over Greece, except that in Greece, the feta was not crumbled. Instead, a slice of feta was balanced atop the other ingredients; we like doing that at home, too. I also use regular cucumber rather than English cucumbers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
Refreshing, not to mention delicious. No changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach822

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fernandina Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2009
WONDERFUL!! Didn't change anything! My picky family ate the whole thing and left nothing for leftovers!! Will definitely make this often! It serves 5 small servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TGal

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Greek Garbanzo Bean Salad

A quick-and-easy Greek salad with garbanzo beans and a zesty dressing.

Greek Pasta Salad I

This salad is bursting with bright colors and fresh, authentic flavors.

Greek Salad and Hummus

Two classic Greek recipes come together for an easy appetizer or main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States