Greek Salad IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
I agree that this is one of the few authentic Greek salads on the net. I spent two weeks in Crete and had at least eight Greek salads each at different places including a beach stand. Not one had olives, lettuce, "English" cucumber, basil nor fancy dressing. Always a large amount of extra virgin oil with small amount of lemon juice or vinegar, salt and oregano. A large block of Feta sitting on top. They had proportionally more tomatoes than this but that's fine as it depends on one's preference. Garden ripe tomatoes only please.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
Delicious when you add some black olives and instead of the olive oil and lemon juice I found some greek vinaigrette with a wonderful flavor! This is a great recipe when you are needing something to do with all those leftover veggies from the garden!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura from South Carolina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
Awesome and easy to do!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dewdley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Melfort, Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
Add some oregano and this would be exactly what I learned to make in Greece. If you have other colors of bell peppers available, I would add them as well. The best Feta is the block packed in juice--you'll have to crumble it yourself, but if you can find it, it's a lot better than the pre-crumbled kind. People go crazy over this salad every time I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
This is good. I left out the green pepper and added some small chopped romaine lettuce. Only thing missing is some "definitely needed salt." I used an English style seedless cucumber partially peeled. And, for the onions, because they have a stronger taste, I sliced them and had them on the side for whoever wanted them on their salad. And, I served the salad right away so the vegetables would not wilt in the fridge from the lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
Excellent - added a little red wine vinegar, oregano and some green olives. Delicious way to use some garden produce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAWNEY112

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA
Living In: Waterloo, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
Loved it. Only used half of red onion. added 1/8 cup of red wine vinegar. And I just had to add the olives. My kids made me make 2 days in a row. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rettable

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
Simple and delicious - I used half the amount of red onion called for, added a little oregano and bit of salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
Wonderful! Big hit at pot luck. This actually measures out more than enough in one serving. Will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
This is the only traditional Greek salad on this site. I hate it when you are instructed to add in a million different things. Greek salad is SIMPLE...Oregano and a little mint MAYBE tops it off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Greek Garbanzo Bean Salad

A quick-and-easy Greek salad with garbanzo beans and a zesty dressing.

Greek Pasta Salad I

This salad is bursting with bright colors and fresh, authentic flavors.

Greek Salad and Hummus

Two classic Greek recipes come together for an easy appetizer or main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States