Greek Salad I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2003
I just made this salad and it was great!. My husband and I loved it. But.....I did change a few things. First of all I did use all of the Olive Oil plus I added 3 T. of Red Wine Vinegar, garlic powder and 3T of sugar. Once I added the sugar that was La Difference! Viva! It made all the difference in the world. The dressing was so good that you could have lapped up the remaining dressing in the bottom of the bowel with some warm buttered French or Italian Bread and made a meal on that alone! Try it with the sugar. Its sensational.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
575 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2005
This was very tasty! Go buy a jar of kalamata olives instead, add a splash of red wine vinegar and some garlic and it's even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
205 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2002
LOVED this salad! Tastes like the ones served at the restaurants! I reduced the olive oil by 1 TBLS and in its place, I used a TBLS of red wine vinegar! It does get soggy pretty fast so do not pour the dressing over the salad until your just ready to serve. Still, will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
159 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2001
Very colorful salad. I added 1/2 tsp. salt based on previous comments. I also will add a little more oregano next time. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2003
This salad is WONDERFUL. I have made it once a week since first trying it. It is very much like what you get at a nice restaurant. The only change I made was adding two Tbsp. of red wine vinegar to the dressing, and more feta to the salad. We have it with crusty french bread for a light dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2001
Great combination of flavors-loved the dressing too. Just the right amount of oregano.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2002
The way the salad was presented allowed one to really appreciate the vegetable flavors. I was on a quest to find the "restaurant style" Greek salad. I added more oregano (doubled the dressing portions) used mediterranian feta, no olives, and red wine vinegar. Now the red wine vinegar gave it the missing zip in my opinion. This may change the healthiness but if I live on this stuff, I am sure it will be great eating vegees regularly! Pita bread is a must w/my Greek salads too! (my next quest~to find a lowfat recipe!) Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SummerRain
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2005
I LOVED THIS!!!! Was looking for recipe with what I had in the fridge, so I skipped feta cheese n green bell pepper. I used what ever lettuce I had (don't know the name of it :P) and used green olives instead of black. And I also added slices of hard boiled eggs. It was yummy!! Never thought I'd enjoy raw red onions, but they were sweet! I did add a bit of sugar in the dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SummerRain

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2002
An INGENIOUS Greek salad recipe... absolutely loved it! Full of flavour, delicious, hearty and, although best when freshly made, still takes pretty good a day later!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2005
This recipe was AWESOME! I substituted lime instead of lemon juice because that's what I had and was excellent. Highly recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Greek Garbanzo Bean Salad

A quick-and-easy Greek salad with garbanzo beans and a zesty dressing.

Greek Pasta Salad I

This salad is bursting with bright colors and fresh, authentic flavors.

Greek Salad and Hummus

Two classic Greek recipes come together for an easy appetizer or main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States