Greek Salad I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
I thought the dressing was a bit bland. I added a 4 tablespoons of red wine vinegar to the mix and it was more flavorful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
Love this salad, and the way the olive oil makes all the ingredients harmonize. Added some red wine vinegar and salt to the dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
This was ok but just did not have any zing to it. I followed other people's advice and did add some sugar and a little red wine vinegar to the recipe. It wasn't a disaster, but not something I will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
Great salad, nice and light dressing. My whole family ate it we will make this anytime we need a side with our gyros or it can be a meal in itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Athenarose

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Kodiak, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
I'm glad to have tried this, but will most likely seek out other dressing recipes as this was quite bland(as noted by several other reviewers). I did like it's simplicity, though. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHARI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Owego, New York, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
Now THIS is salad and just the way I like it, with simple, classic Mediterranean ingredients and a refreshing, understated, light vinaigrette. I detest heavy salad dressings, or those vinaigrettes heavy in vinegar. This is perfect, and one I'll be making routinely. I thought I had a cuke in the fridge but it turned out to be a zucchini, which worked out beautifully anyway. I used Kalamata olives rather than black, but I'm sure the black olives would have been just as delicious. I like a 3:1 ratio of oil/acid in my vinaigrettes, so I used 6 T. of olive oil and 2 T. of lemon juice. "Cold and crunchy" foods are generally not my thing, but this is simply outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach822

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fernandina Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
This was a real hit at a recent picnic. Very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mukwonago, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
What a wonderful greek salad! A few things I've added or changed: instead of just romaine lettuce, I used an herb mix salad which consisted of a mixture of romaine lettuce, cilantro, dill, arugula lettuce, etc; I omitted the tomatoes; and I also added shredded carrots and two cucumbers instead of one. For the dressing, I didn't have a lemon so instead I used 2 limes. I also added in oregano, 3 tablespoons of rice wine vinegar and 3 tablespoons of sugar. You can add more sugar, lime juice, oregano, and/or rice vinegar to taste. Then add in some kalamata olives and sprinkle with some feta cheese! This is great, especially as a refreshing summer salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by georgia101

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
Meh. Dressing is definitely missing something. Real Greek salad does not contain lettuce...I'll skip this one next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Boujie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Greek Garbanzo Bean Salad

A quick-and-easy Greek salad with garbanzo beans and a zesty dressing.

Greek Pasta Salad I

This salad is bursting with bright colors and fresh, authentic flavors.

Greek Salad and Hummus

Two classic Greek recipes come together for an easy appetizer or main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States