Greek Salad I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
This was really good and healthy, and I intend to make it all summer long. I halved the recipe and made a few small changes. Threw in 1/2 t. garlic, a chopped leaf of fresh basil, 1 t. sugar, 1 t. dijon mustard, 1/2 jar artichoke hearts, and 1 T. balsamic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2010
Can't go wrong with a traditional Greek salad! I am never disappointed :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LashGal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2010
This was good, but for some reason it didn't seem like a cohesive recipe. It didn't feel like a lettuce salad to me, and yet the primary ingredient was lettuce. I wish I could pinpoint what I'd like to change, because I'd love to tinker with this and make it again, but I'm not sure what changes to make. I'm actually thinking of making it into a pasta salad. That said, this was still a tasty dish, and I made the following changes: added a few tablespoons of red wine vinegar and some sugar to the dressing, reduced the olive oil by about a tablespoon, reduced the onion a little, and used kalamata olives instead of black (a great substitution if you don't mind the extra cost). The amount of dressing didn't look like enough, but it was just right. UPDATE: I made this with orzo pasta instead of lettuce and I really liked it. Lettuce is healthier, of course, but I'll make it again with the pasta substitution.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
This salad was awesome! It tasted exactly like my favorite restaurant Greek salad. I followed the advice of other reviews and added some sugar to the dressing. I also added a few capers, banana peppers, roma tomatoes, cucumbers, etc. It was so filling with all the veggies -- they were awesome in this dressing. Is a definite make-again recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
My daughter came home from school for the weekend and had a hankering for Greek salad. I found this recipe, ran to the store to buy the ingredients and surprise her. We all loved yum salad and Tyler said it really hit the spot! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
I was looking for a Greek salad recipe and I thought this salad has a nice mix of ingredients. One thing I noticed was that the tomato and cucumber made the salad a bit too much liquid. Next time I will try it with small cherry tomatoes and leave the cucumber out. Also, I used a store bought balsamic vinaigrette dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heidihh1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Fridley, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
Effing delicious. But just like other reviewers suggested, keep dressing and salad separate, as overnight they get mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BanannaNut

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
yum! I used only olive oil, salt, pepper, and thyme for the dressing, but I still loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
makes a ton - but very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
Of 19 recipes, this is the only greek salad with lettuce. This is what I remember eating at Bertucci's when I was a kid on Cape Cod! It was so excellent. I left out the oil and lemon juice and used the Greek Souvlaki Dressing recipe instead. Soooo yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Traskwood, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Greek Garbanzo Bean Salad

A quick-and-easy Greek salad with garbanzo beans and a zesty dressing.

Greek Pasta Salad I

This salad is bursting with bright colors and fresh, authentic flavors.

Greek Salad and Hummus

Two classic Greek recipes come together for an easy appetizer or main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States