Greek Saganaki Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
Delicious! Don't slice the cheese too thin or it will break apart during the breading process. Didn't have a tomato so I served with avocado slices on the side because that is what I had. Might pair well with sliced onion also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Commie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Jolla, California, USA
Living In: Stateline, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
I accidently purchased feta already flavored with herbs, so used very little oregano. It was awesome. Great appetizer, and so easy. I will be making this again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
I am not Greek, but I am a cook! use Kasseri cheese. flour salt pepper pan fry , soak cheese in brandy before you use the season flour pan fry until its melted then pour brandy in it after you remove it and lite it and put it out with lemon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
Yum. Used kasseri cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
A new and very strong taste for us, but it goes well with bland food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
Excellent! My guests raved about it! Unfortunately, it was messy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
This was pretty good never made anything like it before. Maybe tinker with the herbs a bit. not sure if i will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cathy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Living In: Cadillac, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
Yum! I added these to a Greek salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
This was REALLY great! I've never heard of doing this, but my hubby is a feta freak, so I thought I'd give it a shot. I followed the advice of Cat Lady Cyndi (Thanks, Girl!) and it turned out perfectly! I agree, the tomatoes and the lemons are a MUST. Beautiful AND delicious, this will become a regular at our house! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Cat Lady Cyndi
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
This is very good, I love it, but you must really enjoy the flavor of feta cheese to appreciate this recipe. Only problem I have with this as written is the amount of olive oil. I used a large skillet and 2 Tablespoons is not enough for frying all eight slices of cheese. I use 5 Tablespoons and that seems to be perfect for me. Also, the temperature should be bit higher than medium heat. This has to be browned quickly, and medium heat just doesn't do the trick. It's very important to use the lemon juice over these, and serve with the tomato, the flavors together are wonderful. I used dried oregano instead fresh. This is made often with the few minor adjustments I make. Thanks for sharing this :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Spanakopita (Greek Spinach Pie)

Watch how to make this top-rated Greek spinach pie.

Greek Chicken Pasta

See how to make Greek-style pasta with chicken and artichokes.

Greek Garbanzo Bean Salad

A quick-and-easy Greek salad with garbanzo beans and a zesty dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States