Greek Rice Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
This salad looked as good as it tasted! i read some of the reviews first and added tofu like some others did but i also added some chick peas. We ate this filling salad as a meal!!! i can't wait to make this for our next family dinner
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lmcg4
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
I have made this 4 times in the past 6 weeks, it is incredible! Perfect for the summer when it's just too hot to cook. Some tips that I've found make a difference: 1-Adding a couple tablespoons of white balsamic vinegar really add another dimension to the flavour, and 2-DO NOT omit the avocado! It breaks down a bit in the salad to give a great creamy texture, I made it once without it because I didn't have one and the texture was nasty--kinda dry and oily at the same time. Other than that the only thing I change is using green olives out of personal preference, but I'm sure it's just as awesome with black. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lmcg4

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
This was excellent, and tasted very good the next day. Don't skip the mint, it adds something special. I served this as a main dish with extra feta, pepper, and salt on the side (there wasn't quite enough in the recipe, but this way everyone could pick their preferred amount), and it was a perfect light summer meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
I was concerned with the recipe's note that it wouldn't keep well because of the tomatoes and cucumbers, but I made sure to seed my tomatoes and cucumbers and had no trouble at all with the dish becoming soggy the next day. Thought it was very good, a little bit dry but that could have been my fault as I estimated rather than measuring lemon juice and olive oil. I would try it again with tofu next time for protein. A nice, healthy recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
Left out the onions....recipe was enjoyed by everyone. I think orzo would be good to use as well....the long grain rice is a bit sticky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerry

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
I was a little nervous making this because our dinner guests were Greek. Not to worry, this salad was FANTASTIC. Made exactly as stated, except used frozen brown rice from Trader Joe's which is ready in 3 minutes. Big time saver.I also used Roma tomatoes and cut out the pulp and seeds. This makes the salad less "watery" Thanks for a great recipe!! Loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
Delicious! Makes alot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: May 27, 2010
Very nice alternative to the usual Greek salad. I love the mint, it really makes this salad a standout recipe. As directed, I wouldn't serve it immediately nor chill it for an hour. The flavors need time to meld and chilling it would kill the flavor. I let it sit, covered, at room temp for 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: May 21, 2010
WOW, amazing flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
No way, never cooking this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Greek Garbanzo Bean Salad

A quick-and-easy Greek salad with garbanzo beans and a zesty dressing.

Greek Salad I

Summer vegetables dressed in a tangy, refreshing vinaigrette.

Spicy Rice Noodle Salad

See how to make a simple, spicy and delicious rice noodle salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States