Greek Rice Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
I hate it when people rate a recipe when they actually made it differently. But...I was put off by the submitters instruction that the tomato and cucumber meant the salad needed to be eaten the same day. So, I left them out and served tomato, cucumber and avocado on the side. The salad, which I had doubled, lasted well for almost a week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: May 27, 2010
Very nice alternative to the usual Greek salad. I love the mint, it really makes this salad a standout recipe. As directed, I wouldn't serve it immediately nor chill it for an hour. The flavors need time to meld and chilling it would kill the flavor. I let it sit, covered, at room temp for 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
I was a little nervous making this because our dinner guests were Greek. Not to worry, this salad was FANTASTIC. Made exactly as stated, except used frozen brown rice from Trader Joe's which is ready in 3 minutes. Big time saver.I also used Roma tomatoes and cut out the pulp and seeds. This makes the salad less "watery" Thanks for a great recipe!! Loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
Easy, delicious and addictive! I omitted the mint and feta (didn't have those on hand) and used black olives and organic short grain brown rice. Still fabulous. I crave it now. Even enjoyed leftovers the next day. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lmcg4
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
I have made this 4 times in the past 6 weeks, it is incredible! Perfect for the summer when it's just too hot to cook. Some tips that I've found make a difference: 1-Adding a couple tablespoons of white balsamic vinegar really add another dimension to the flavour, and 2-DO NOT omit the avocado! It breaks down a bit in the salad to give a great creamy texture, I made it once without it because I didn't have one and the texture was nasty--kinda dry and oily at the same time. Other than that the only thing I change is using green olives out of personal preference, but I'm sure it's just as awesome with black. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lmcg4

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
Left out the onions....recipe was enjoyed by everyone. I think orzo would be good to use as well....the long grain rice is a bit sticky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerry

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
Super tasty. Perfect for lunch. I actually added some fried tofu in it, to add some proteins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Quebec, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Kailua, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
Enjoyable and healthy I followed the recipie as written and really liked it It does make a large amount Next time I will make half as I am alone . The mint is fantastic and so fresh tasting Absolutely a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookstorelax

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Swansea, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
This was awesome. I did not have any mint and I used green olives instead of kalamata olives. I also added extra avocado because I love it so much. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marieclaire0924

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
Very tasty, healthy and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Greek Garbanzo Bean Salad

A quick-and-easy Greek salad with garbanzo beans and a zesty dressing.

Spicy Rice Noodle Salad

See how to make a simple, spicy and delicious rice noodle salad.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States