Greek Penne and Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
Great easy dish! One thing though...DO NOT USE IMITATION OR REAL LEMON JUICE AS A SUBSITUTE!!! You have to use a real lemon to get the flavors to pop in your mouth. Great easy dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
Also thought this recipe was bland-if I try it again, I will follow some of the other suggestions and possibly add spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by coletteellender
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
Used olive oil with the butter to coat the bottom of the pan. Also used a 1/2 cup of white wine with mixing in the garlic and onions. Did not use artichokes. Used 13.5 oz of pasta instead of the 16 oz. Came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
On the bland side. Also, dry. It was just O.k.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
This recipe was a hit with the whole family! I made the modifications as suggested by some of the top reviews on this site. I used two 12 oz jars of marinated artichoke hearts, including the liquid from one jar. I also used the juice of one whole lemon instead of only 2 Tbsp, a can (drained) of petite diced tomatoes instead of fresh, and cilantro instead of parsley. Of course, I used a whole container of crumbled Athenos feta...I think it was like a cup and a half. Anyway... it was super tasty and we all loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LinLou

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
This recipe is fine as it stands! I don't "sauce" it. The fresh tomato is the "sauce" as in many other fresh tomato recipes. It is a classic way of serving pasta when good tomatoes are in season. You are only warming the vegetables. (Certainly feel free to marinate the chicken and/or artichokes if you want, as this still maintains the basic fresh character of the dish.) While the dish will taste fine with tomato sauce, you will nevertheless lose the unique "soul" of this recipe. Remember it is warmed, it is not a saucy hot dish, which makes it appropriate on a hot summer day. If you find the pasta dry, toss it in some EVO and a bit of the pasta cooking water before you add the penne to the sauté pan, and perhaps increase the butter or add some additional EVO and cooking liquid to the pan. Or try adding more tomato. You may also prefer to use a good brand of diced canned tomatoes (drain most of the liquid), as a compromise. But it is best if the tomatoes retain as much of their uncooked character as possible, to the point of perhaps adding them at room temperature to each dish just before serving. The fresh uncooked tomato flavor is a key element. For blandness, try additional garlic and some basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BFM

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
This was sooooo good! I made a few changes that I thought sounded good - I added some kalamata olives, olive oil instead of butter, twice the amount of feta, and used marinated artichoke hearts. Also, since I am picky about chicken I baked it in the oven and then shredded it into the pasta/veggies mixture at the end (I think baking makes chicken more juicy vs. pan-frying). I also added some extra olives and raw red onions when I served it. I really recommend the kalamata olives because they add a salty acidity that really tastes great with this dish. Thanks for sharing, my husband has insisted that this goes into the "rotation!" :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
So easy and so delicious. I add a little olive oil with the butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lufkin, Texas, USA
Living In: Silverdale, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
Very good recipe! I took others advice and finished off the chicken with some chicken broth, then thickening it with some flour/water mixture, then added the veggies. Came out amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
I really disliked this dish because it was so bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 475) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Greek Penne and Chicken

See how to make Greek chicken with feta cheese and artichokes.

Greek Chicken Pasta

See how to make Greek-style pasta with chicken and artichokes.

Greek Chicken Kozani

See how to make a savory Greek-inspired chicken dish with prunes and paprika.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States