Greek Pasta with Tomatoes and White Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2004
It's excellent but I made LOTS of changes based on other reviews. I chopped tomatoes from a 28-oz can of tomatoes. I used a 15 oz. can of lima butter beans instead of cannellini beans. I sauteed three diced garlic cloves in 2 Tbsp olive oil and began the sauce with that. I addded 1 tsp basil and 1 tsp oregano to the sauce. I doubled the amount of pasta (to 16 oz.) to serve all five people in my family. I crumbled 8 oz. of feta cheese and mixed it with the entire pasta/sauce mixture instead of just putting it on top. I think it's great now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
327 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SQUEAKYCHU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2007
I thought this was a great simple meal - easy to make and so good! I also used plain diced tomatoes instead of the italian style. I sauteed some garlic and onion first, added the tomatoes along with 1 tsp salt, 1/2 tsp sugar, and some italian seasoning and let simmer for about a half hour, then adding the beans, fresh basil, and spinach. Absolutely delicious!! Will be making on a regular basis... mmmm...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
129 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2005
This was great but I'll tell you what I did.... after cooking and draining the pasta and putting it back in the pot, I put the spinach right on top and then the sauce - spinach did not get soggy and was very good - this is a keeper for me!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
We loved this dish. I will make this over and over again. Super fast, easy and cheap! I made some changes. Sautéed a little onion and 3 cloves of garlic in olive oil, then added a little sherry and let it cook down. Only had plain canned tomatoes so I added a good Tbsp of Mediterranean seasoning, 1 Tbsp of sugar, black pepper and cayenne pepper to them. Added sliced black olives and had to use frozen spinach which I drained well and only used ½ of the box. That worked fine. All I had was fettuccini so I tossed it with the tomato mixture and had to add a little chicken broth because it was a little dry. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bismarck, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
Initially this sounded good...but then I read the so-called reviews. There were so many changes/additions/deletions I didn't know where to begin. Ladies, make the recipe as is. If you feel the need to change things & not just tweek...submit your own recipe. Otherwise just submit tweeks, not major changes! Sorry for the rant, but I get so tired of reading about a wonderful recipe only to find out it's only wonderful if you make the following major changes...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2005
Great recipe! Like other reviewers, I also sauteed some garlic (2 cloves) in a teaspoon of olive oil and added basil, oregano, and ground white pepper for an extra kick. I might try a pinch of crushed red pepper next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2007
Excellent recipe! I'm always looking for non-meat main dishes to serve on Fridays during Lent, and this one fit the bill perfectly! I did use the plain diced tomatoes and added fresh basil and minced garlic as recommended by other reviewers. I also added some sliced black olives, and used tomato-basil flavored feta cheese on top. It was wonderful! I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THELBERG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairmont, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Prescott, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2001
I enjoyed this recipes with sun dried tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schmerna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2002
This recipe was not a keeper at my house. Not very flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by hardrockgirl
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2006
Good recipe as is, affordable and tasty. We used whole wheat penne and reduced fat feta. My 14 month old loved it, it was the first time she's had spinach. Thanks for the recipe, this will be in our regular dinner rotation now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hardrockgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yorba Linda, California, USA
Living In: Mechanicsville, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 335) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Greek Chicken Pasta

See how to make Greek-style pasta with chicken and artichokes.

Greek Green Beans

Green beans simmer with tomatoes and onions until tender and yummy.

Pasta with Scallops, Zucchini, and Tomatoes

See how to make a simple pasta with scallops, zucchini, and tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States