Greek Lentil Soup (Fakes) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2007
ABSOLUTELY WONDERFUL!!!! Even my meat and potatoes hubby enjoyed this one! Will definately make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Irene Zoidis Wright

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2007
I just recently went vegetarian for health and weight loss. This is one of the first recipes I tried. Wonderful! I used broth instead of water. Out of habit I accidentally used chicken broth, however next time i will use veggie broth. I also added an extra carrot and a finaly chopped zucchini for extra veggies. In addition, I didn't have brown lentils on hand - i had red, black and pearl barley. So i did 2 oz red lentils, 2 oz barley and 4 oz red lentils. It was superb. I def recommend to everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SMDAILEY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2007
I thought this soup was excellent, vinegar and all. We served it with pumpernickel bread and made that our entire meal. My 10-year-old son preferred it without the vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2007
I am sure this recipe is quite good--I deviated from it quite a bit, though, and added instead of a quart of water, two cups of water and a cube of bouillon and a large can of organic crushed tomatoes with basil. I also included cubed potatoes with the carrots. It turned out a delicious thick lentil stewy soup, vegetarian and wonderful, even leftover. A splash of balsamic vinegar and a few crumbles of feta cheese on top was the lovely finishing touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2007
THIS WAS SO GOOD AND EASY! I added an extra can of tomato paste but aside from that I stuck to the recipe. It came out more like a stoup but it's delicious and only gets better as it sits. (I also added extra carrots)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2007
This soup has a great taste and is easy to prepare. I think I might try lemon juice instead of the vinegar next time but I did like the vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2007
We routinely have lentil stew, but had lost my recipe. This was as close as I could find. Lentils are great for protein, and lots of veggies is good. Sometimes for the veggies I will just buy a bag of frozen vegetables (like a stir-fry mix). Super easy,and the red peppers add alot of 'zing' to the mix. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2007
I made exactly as instructed and it was awesome. We all had fun saying the work "Fakes," too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Greenhills, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
This was a very easy recipe to prepare. My husband and I loved this lentil soup. We would definitely add this recipe to our favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: El Mirage, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2007
This soup tastes great AND it's healthy! My husband thought it was "okay, a little too healthy-tasting" but I really liked it. Since soups usually taste better the day after they are made I made it a day ahead and I loved it. I used vegetable broth instead of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 249) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Lentil Soup

See how to put a Hungarian twist on comforting lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States