Greek Lentil Soup (Fakes) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Diana Moutsopoulos
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
As the author of this recipe, I'd like to respond to some recent reviews. Indeed, this is a simple soup born out of generations that lived simply and were lucky if they had meat once every six months. The light and simple flavors are meant to be savored, and the vinegar at the end is imperative - it really adds a much needed dimension of flavour to the soup, and I'd never eat the soup without the vinegar! I use red wine vinegar. *** Also, someone commented on the soup not being healthy - with 1 tablespoon of olive oil per serving, and under 15 grams of (healthy) fat, I don't see how it could be considered otherwise! Anyone who knows anything about the revered Mediterranean diet knows that one of its virtues is olive oil as the main source of (healthy) fat. Skip the drizzle of olive oil at the end (which I often do) if you're scared of too much fat. *** Finally, for those who don't like rosemary, feel free to skip it - not everyone in Greece uses rosemary when making Fakes. Thanks and enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
550 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana Moutsopoulos

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
My whole family loved this soup, even the two picky teenagers. Don't be shy when adding the vinegar it defiantly needed it. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
My husband's family is Greek and his mom used to make this--I'm glad to have the recipe, the red wine vinegar really adds an incredible depth to the flavor--my husband loved it. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
My mom wouldn't give me a recipe for fakes because she said it was just in her head and I should just learn by watching but then she would never show me how to make them! So I searched the internet and your recipe seemed to be closest to what I thought it should. And it was! Delicious! Tastes just like my mom's. Don't tell HER though. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
I make this all the time - It's pretty much a staple in my house now. I find that it is a very forgiving recipe. Make it with or without tomato paste; I actually prefer it without. Tonight I didn't have onion so I just used extra carrot and added a can of tomatoes. It's always yummy and satisfying. You have to add the vinegar though, it makes it much more flavorful. It doesn't matter what kind you use, I use balsamic most of the time. Perfect with crusty french bread and goat cheese..yum! Update: I recently began experimenting with the recipe by adding 3 diced and peeled red potatoes, a can of diced tomatoes, and a dash of cayenne. Perhaps not as traditional but delicious nonetheless!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Jo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2007
I just recently went vegetarian for health and weight loss. This is one of the first recipes I tried. Wonderful! I used broth instead of water. Out of habit I accidentally used chicken broth, however next time i will use veggie broth. I also added an extra carrot and a finaly chopped zucchini for extra veggies. In addition, I didn't have brown lentils on hand - i had red, black and pearl barley. So i did 2 oz red lentils, 2 oz barley and 4 oz red lentils. It was superb. I def recommend to everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SMDAILEY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2007
Easy to make, and delicious, especially when reheated the following day. I doubled the quantity of spices, and used chicken broth instead of water, but regardless of how you tweak this recipe the red wine vinegar topper is an absolute must!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Castlegar, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2007
ABSOLUTELY WONDERFUL!!!! Even my meat and potatoes hubby enjoyed this one! Will definately make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2008
SO GOOD!!! Can't forget the vinegar and oil. Love love love love love. Made my husband make it and he's so proud. Needed a bit more salt. that's all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: 100 Mile House, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Aldergrove, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
this is really good. i like it a lot. definitely add the vinegar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gabisaniyeh
Home Town: Castaic, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 247) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Lentil Soup

See how to put a Hungarian twist on comforting lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States