Greek Lentil Soup (Fakes) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
I'm one that tends to be uninterested in a recipe if it doesn't have a lot of different flavors listed, but decided to try this one on a lazy night and I am SO glad I did! Although the flavors are simple, they're in a perfect balance. I tried it without the vinegar and it was good, but later decided to take the advice of other reviewers and it was a wise decision. I only made a slight change- first, I made a double batch, so I doubled the ingredients. Also, we didn't have any minced garlic, so I used powder, and I made it with one quart water, one quart beef broth. After pulling it off the eye and letting it sit for a minute I added about 1/2 cup vinegar and let it sit for a few more minutes. The leftovers are fantastic and the flavors have really come together, letting the soup sit overnight. This will be in our rotation from now on, so thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aries84

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
Excellent! I followed the recipe to the T and found it bland...then I added the oil and balsamic AND WOW! This is key to the success of the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Very easy to make, also reheats well! Definitely add the balsamic vinegar to enhance this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stella

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Yep, that is the authentic Greek recipe and a typical Friday meal in Greece. Very healthy indeed...May I add, other that the vinegar, accompany this with feta cheese and some sourdough bread. My family also very often had (dried) sardines on the table (for extra protein). These flavors all go great together with fakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Athens, Attica, Greece

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
I am Greek as well and I had a similar recipe, but the carrots were a nice addition. I enjoyed this version very much. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hdemore

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
First rate. I boil this down a bit and eat it as stew instead of soup. It's perfect the way it is. Healthy, satisfying, easy and cheap. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Easton, Maryland, USA
Living In: Brunswick, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
Easy, hearty, and budget friendly soup that tastes good too! The only change I made was to use less olive oil than the 1/4c and I also left out the rosemary. I used a few splashes of red wine vinegar at the end of cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: White House, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
Great, healthy recipe, although I tend to put more spices into dishes than most so I added a bit more oregano and rosemary than the recipe called for. I also wish a suggestion of how much vinegar to add at the end was directly in the ingredients section, because I rarely add vinegar to anything so I was unsure how much to add without overdoing it. :) But otherwise, good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
Pretty good. I had to tinker a bit since I didn't have carrots and I really wanted to make this for dinner last night. I used red and orange bell peppers and canned tomatoes instead . . .probably not Greek, but I thought it worked. I liked it okay, but I forgot the vinegar suggestion completely, so I'm going to try that with the leftovers tonight. Bf thought it was okay but ate all of it, so it must've been good enough! I'm not sure about lentils in general, but I'm willing to keep trying them, and this was a good recipe to start with. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
I pre-soaked my lentils for about 1 1/2 hrs to speed up the cooking process. My family loved it... I prepared it with extra garlic, oregano & rosemary and used chicken broth instead of water. I think that this dish will become part of our weekly rotation - so easy to make & tasted great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 247) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Lentil Soup

See how to put a Hungarian twist on comforting lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States