Greek Lentil Soup (Fakes) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
Super easy, super healthy, super delicious. Everything a recipe should be! To reiterate what everyone else has said - the vinegar is key! I was a little disappointed with my first taste (pre-vinegar) so I put some red wine vinegar in and then proceeded to have two big bowls because I couldn't put the spoon down! This isn't just going to be revisited, this is going to be part of the regular rotation in my kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
BTB beef base, double pinches of spices. Added celery, more carrot, and some leftover roasted potatoes. A little feta on top with a few dashes of red wine vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
A keeper; made it as written except I used pomegranate vinegar as a condiment--delicious. Easy to make; I found this recipe by searching for an uncomplicated lentil soup recipe and this delivered. Wife said it needed more flavor and recommended chicken or vegetable stock instead of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CafeAmericano

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Downey, California, USA
Living In: Batesville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
Was very good and easy. I added a small amount of chicken bullion which boosted the flavor for my personal taste. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Wow! So delicious! I used regular white vinegar and it was amazing. I could eat this every week-the only thing I might change next time is to add even more carrots because they were so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
This is a great mediterranean recipe. I do not understand how some reviewers gave it 1 star. I made it multiple times and each time, I barely have leftovers. We all love it. I skip the initial phase of cooking the lentils for 10 min and it works. I use a mix of olive oil and apple cider vinegar for the end drizzle. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
Bravo Diana! I am of Greek descent and was craving my yiayia's lentil soup. She is long gone and I never did get her recipe. This was delicious and hearty. I used chicken stock instead of water and added a can of condensed Campbell's tomato soup. I had never heard of using red wine vinegar as a garnish and found it so odd that I re-read it a couple of times. It really makes a huge difference and will now be a staple on our table when I serve this dish. Efharisto!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moonchild

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: King City, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
Made it last night, was a big hit thanks Diana. Stuck to your recipe and it turned out great. Next time I wanna try adding some lemon before serving. Also curious about trying it with vinegar, sounds delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
Absolutely wonderful recipe! One thing I found different was precooking the lentils slightly -- at first I thought this was a rather redundant step, but was really happy with the results. It seemed to really preserve the texture of the lentils in the soup. I ended up pureeing about 1/2 of the soup for a richer consistency and added white wine vinegar at the end. Whole family loved -- even the picky ones! Thanks for submitting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
not liking the lentils all that much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 274) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States