Greek Lentil Soup (Fakes) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
Such a satisfying and simple soup recipe! I double the garlic and add thin slices of potato to thicken the broth into more of a stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
This was a great soup. I used a whole can of tomato paste but the rest was as written. I didn't need to simmer for 30-40 minutes....the lentils were soft when I added the paste in. I did need to add salt & pepper at that point. When serving I spilled the red wine vinegar so it was much more than a tsp but it really made the meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
made it and it was good. tasted like lentil soup to me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SisterSarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Katy, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
...and that is how you make Greek Lentil soup. (the oregano might not be the traditional way but I dont see why it won't work)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pallini, Attica, Greece
Living In: Riga, Riga, Latvia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
Simply loving this recipe! I was VERY uncertain about the vinegar(aged balsamic)-but it really adds to the flavor of the soup!! Wow! This will definitely not be the last time I enjoy this dish:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annette1

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mcallen, Texas, USA
Living In: Schertz, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
There is no vinegar listed in the ingredients or directions. How much vinegar do you use? Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garden City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Allen Park, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
I gave this recipe 2 stars because it has too much garlic and not enough flavor. Also the boiling and draining proved to be an unnecessary step. I love garlic but this calls for about twice the amount it should. I used sweet mayan onions and would not recommend using the sweet onions because the sweetness of the carrots and bay leaves is enough. I added one diced celery stalk to this recipe and an additional one and a half teaspoons of tomato paste for more flavor. It does need a more spice. I added a tsp paprika and 1/4 tsp red chili flakes. I also added 2 cups fresh baby spinach leaves and drizzle with extra virgin olive oil after I turned the heat off. The vinegar helped balance the sweetness and cut the over powering garlic. I used about a tsp of vinegar in my bowl. It was better the next day. The garlic seemed to mellow out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catlady
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
Very good, very simple. It definitely needs the vinegar. I think I personally prefer more "exotic" flavors in my soups or something, because I didn't *love* this recipe. BUT it was really good and I definitely appreciate the solid comfort of simple and traditional flavors. Thanks for sharing! I'm glad I tried this. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TribePride

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
Super easy, super healthy, super delicious. Everything a recipe should be! To reiterate what everyone else has said - the vinegar is key! I was a little disappointed with my first taste (pre-vinegar) so I put some red wine vinegar in and then proceeded to have two big bowls because I couldn't put the spoon down! This isn't just going to be revisited, this is going to be part of the regular rotation in my kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
BTB beef base, double pinches of spices. Added celery, more carrot, and some leftover roasted potatoes. A little feta on top with a few dashes of red wine vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 243) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Lentil Soup

See how to put a Hungarian twist on comforting lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States