Greek Lentil Soup (Fakes) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
I make this recipe and it is great. The one thing I change is you have to add in a ton of tomato paste to get the consistency right. I am talking a 12 ounce can. Some add ketchup instead. Also, I put in more rosemary, and double the lentils.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
I was married to a Greek and know how to make many varieties of this soup. This is by far the best! I have made this several times with the only change being a few more carrots. It is a perfect soup for vegetarians and meat lovers alike. I follow a plant based whole foods diet and this flavorful soup offers excellent nutrition. Simply fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
Even my picky kids eat this soup. We LOVE it! I didn't know to boil the lentils and rinse them before making them into soup before making this recipe, so THANKS for the tip that has improved some of my other favorite recipes. We add broth instead of water. (I like Better Than Bouillon's veggie base, but chicken does well, too.) When serving, I salt and pepper the top and load it up with red wine vinegar. In a bind I've used any tomato product to sub for the tomato paste, including tomato soup and tomato sauce. P.S. Don't be shy about the olive oil. Olive oil is one of the healthiest thing around. In some health food stores and restaurants, you can order a shot of it to chug down. It lubricates your insides and promotes healthy digestion, not to mention a multitude of other benefits. Good fat is good for your body and a necessary element for good health.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
Really tasty. I was missing a couple of the spices but otherwise I didn't change anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
I did add chicken broth and then I put fresh shredded parmesan cheese on the top. It was wonderful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stanton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
A very good soup. Made as per instructions. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzy Q

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Airdrie, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
I love this recipe! So easy and so good! I thought the vinegar at the end was weird but it really makes the soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
I was making a recipe similar to this one, and I'm glad I found this one. It helped save my meal. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Loved it! I used chicken broth instead of water and added some spinach. I will be making this on a regular basis! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
I make lentil soup all the time and really liked this version for when I don't want the meat. Also, Ive never thought to par cook the lentils but makes sense. I would never omit the evoo or the vinegar at the end for its the Ying/Yang that rounds out the dish. Parmesan, or romana would also be an option to finish with since there is no meat. Also this recipe could be started with rendering some pork fat for richness. The only problem I have with this recipe would be that I would fry my paste with those vegetables, never just add raw paste to a pot of liquid. I'm Italian and we always fry our paste to bring out the sweetness and get rid od the raw taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 274) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States