Greek Lentil Soup (Fakes) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Loved it! I used chicken broth instead of water and added some spinach. I will be making this on a regular basis! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
I make lentil soup all the time and really liked this version for when I don't want the meat. Also, Ive never thought to par cook the lentils but makes sense. I would never omit the evoo or the vinegar at the end for its the Ying/Yang that rounds out the dish. Parmesan, or romana would also be an option to finish with since there is no meat. Also this recipe could be started with rendering some pork fat for richness. The only problem I have with this recipe would be that I would fry my paste with those vegetables, never just add raw paste to a pot of liquid. I'm Italian and we always fry our paste to bring out the sweetness and get rid od the raw taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
Being Greek myself know it's authentic, and I must say if you haven't tried this soup yet you don't know what your missing !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
I lived in Athens for years and love the Mediterranean diet. I make this soup all of the time.....it is absolutely the best lentil soup I have ever eaten. Don't change a thing in Diana's recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
I really enjoyed this soup. I did make some adjustments to boost the flavor. I used vegetable stock instead of water and added probably more like 3T of tomato paste but other than that was pretty true to the recipe. The splash at the vinegar at the end is an absolute must do. It really makes it delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
Loved it!! I added 1/2 teaspoon of salt to a 4 serving recipe. You must add the red wine vinegar upon serving; it really completes the flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
This is a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
This is an amazing recipe and so very authentic. It is quite healthy and the vinegar really does add the finishing touch. From one Greek to another I can truly say that serving up this recipe gives me great pride and the multitude of comments I receive helps too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
I liked the foundation of this recipe. I added 1/8tsp chili powder, 2 tsp balsamic vinegarette, 1 tsp salt, 1 qt chicken broth, and 2 tbs lemon juice. Much more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
There is something so wholesome and satisfying to a good lentil soup. This one is DELICIOUS and I like a little drizzle of good Balsamic vinegar on it. Tangy and kind of sweet, it so complements the earthiness of the lentils. This freezes well also, for a quick dinner when you have no time to cook. Thanks Diana.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soody

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woburn, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Atkinson, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 247) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Lentil Soup

See how to put a Hungarian twist on comforting lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States