Greek Lentil Soup (Fakes) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
My husband is Greek and this is EXACTLY how his family has always made this soup. My friends are always asking me if we have any lentil (or other bean) soup left over so they can try some. Most of my friends are health conscious and appreciate a low fat, protein rich soup. We always use olive oil and fresh vegetables so everyone feels good about eating at our house! Anyone who doesn't like this recipe can tweak it but PLEASE look up the advantages of using oil iol before you do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
My husband raved about this soup, something he doesn't do often, and I make giant pots of soup all the time (for the ease and quantity). I doubled the recipe and used just a couple cups of some veggie stock I had on hand; didn't put in any vinegar. It was so very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
I make this recipe and it is great. The one thing I change is you have to add in a ton of tomato paste to get the consistency right. I am talking a 12 ounce can. Some add ketchup instead. Also, I put in more rosemary, and double the lentils.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
I was married to a Greek and know how to make many varieties of this soup. This is by far the best! I have made this several times with the only change being a few more carrots. It is a perfect soup for vegetarians and meat lovers alike. I follow a plant based whole foods diet and this flavorful soup offers excellent nutrition. Simply fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
Even my picky kids eat this soup. We LOVE it! I didn't know to boil the lentils and rinse them before making them into soup before making this recipe, so THANKS for the tip that has improved some of my other favorite recipes. We add broth instead of water. (I like Better Than Bouillon's veggie base, but chicken does well, too.) When serving, I salt and pepper the top and load it up with red wine vinegar. In a bind I've used any tomato product to sub for the tomato paste, including tomato soup and tomato sauce. P.S. Don't be shy about the olive oil. Olive oil is one of the healthiest thing around. In some health food stores and restaurants, you can order a shot of it to chug down. It lubricates your insides and promotes healthy digestion, not to mention a multitude of other benefits. Good fat is good for your body and a necessary element for good health.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
Really tasty. I was missing a couple of the spices but otherwise I didn't change anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
I did add chicken broth and then I put fresh shredded parmesan cheese on the top. It was wonderful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stanton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
A very good soup. Made as per instructions. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzy Q

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Airdrie, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
I love this recipe! So easy and so good! I thought the vinegar at the end was weird but it really makes the soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
I was making a recipe similar to this one, and I'm glad I found this one. It helped save my meal. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 257) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States