Greek Lentil Soup (Fakes) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
Wow, delicious! I added chicken stock instead of water and used fresh rosemary (delicious), but otherwise the recipe was the same. We also used Balsamic vinegar instead of red wine vinegar as that's all we had. It was amazing. I agree, the vinegar (or lemon) is an important part of the recipe. It really brings out the flavours. This will be a regular part of our menus from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda Grate

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Dinita
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2015
Great! It's almost like my greek Mom's recipe! I added four cubed small potatoes and finally I topped every soup plate with sumach and chopped parsley. Thank you for sharing this recipe with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dinita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
I made this with the following adjustments: no tomato paste (I'm not a fan of tomato flavor) and I used crushed bay leaves instead of whole leaves. It was a good hearty soup and the whole family ate it up, but it seemed to be missing a little flavor. I love lentil soup so I will definitely try this again and maybe throw in the tomato paste...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
This is wonderful. The only thing I did differently was to add a can of diced tomatoes. DEFINITELY add the olive oil and red wine vinegar at the end - it kicks it up to a whole new level. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
My mother-in-law grew up in Southern Greece and ran a restaurant with her now-passed husband for several years. Not much gets out of her kitchen without a healthy dose of cinnamon, which is excellent for flavor and digestion. This recipe produced a soup that is awfully close to hers and very good, although I made some modifications. I substituted chicken stock for the water, I added two stalks of celery, I skipped the rosemary, and I probably didn't use a full quarter cup of olive oil (I sprayed my pot with Pam Olive Oil and then went around the pan two or three times with a drizzle of olive oil). Then, REALLY IMPORTANTLY, I added a cinnamon stick when simmering the lentils You could just as easily use ground cinnamon if you don't have a stick. Also, I didn't skimp on the tomato paste or the oregano--I probably added about 1/2 of a small can of tomato paste and a scant tablespoon of oregano (I use dried and I always crush it by rubbing my palms together over the stock pot as I add it to the soup--just because that's how my MIL does it). Because I used stock, I skipped the additional salt. My husband liked it without the vinegar, I would recommend adding a little (not a lot) for brightness. With the cinnamon, you really could go either way. I didn't see the need to add olive oil at the end as a garnish so I skipped that. This is a great meal that will fill you up, is cheap, relatively easy to make, and will keep in the fridge for a week if you make extras.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PHOEBE51580
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
This was surprisingly delicious. Really great just the way it is. And with the vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watertown, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
Delicious, full bodied, hearty soup- vinegar is imperative! This is a wonderful, healthy option for vegetarians and meat eaters! We were reluctant to add vinegar however once we did it brought this dish to another level- amazing! I usually double carrots for extra vitamin and add locatelli cheese to individual dish and top with vinegar. My family loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
Love this recipe! We have made it several times and it is very forgiving! Even my kiddos will eat it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
This was a tasty, simple and filling meal. I do find that lentils require ALOT more seasoning; like soup beans they tend to suck up the salt, etc. However, this is a great base that can easily be spiced up a bit with additions of whatever suits your fancy at the time. Serve with some warm naan bread and a dollop of sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
This is the first time I've ever left a review for a recipe. I made this tonight and just have to say that this soup is amazing!!! It's so simple and quick to make, but the result tastes like a sweet Greek grandma slaved away in the kitchen all day. It's nutritious, delicious and filling- but not heavy. I have two young boys who turn their nose up at anything that isn't pizza or chicken nuggets and they both loved this soup! I'm so glad I found this recipe. It's now our new meatless Monday dinner. Thank you for sharing this!! It's a new favorite in my family! : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 274) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States