Greek Lentil Soup (Fakes) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
This is a wonderfully simple soup. Instead of tomato paste, I used a can of crushed tomatoes, and fresh herbs from my garden. Sauteed the veggies in the oil to bring out the sugars before I poured in the lentils, tomato, and chicken stock instead of water. Delicious! I'm not Greek, but I wish I were!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATEZ21

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Carbondale, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
Wonderful, delicious and mouth watering good!! Loved it ... the only thing was that I did not know how much red wine vinegar to add as it is not in the ingredients? I added about 3 TBSP. to the whole recipe and it was great! Thanx Ms. Moutsopoulos for sharing this simple but very nutritious and filling soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Summerpls

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lachute, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
This is the perfect easy dish for a chilly fall evening and I'll be making it throughout the winter, too. It's so easy yet so delicious and nutritious. Serve with bread, cornbread or biscuits and it's a complete filling meal, especially for vegetarians! To those that said it was bland, make certain you sauté the onion, garlic and carrots to bring out the full flavor and boil the soup with the oregano and rosemary as directed before adding the tomato paste and simmering for the remaining minutes. To achieve the proper full-bodied flavor, follow the steps and you won't be disappointed. Also, don't forget to add the salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
This is a great soup that was easy to make. My husband accidentally poured in too much vinegar and ruined his (ha). Definitely use the vinegar sparingly -- but is really does add to the soup. Thanks for sharing this recipe. My kids ate it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
I really didn't expect this to amount to much after looking the ingredient list over, but man was I surprised!! This is so delicious, light and flavorful! Especially after you add the RWV and OO at the end. I will serve it over rice to make it more appealing to my kids but I will certainy keep making this just how the recipe calls! Note: all I had on hand were red lentils not brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
My mother made this for me when I was a child. It brought back so many memories. Now I can make it for my family. I used lemon juice instead of vinegar because that was at hand and drizzled a little extra virgin olive oil as well, a really good quality, so for flavour only. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann Maksymiw

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
I've been using this recipe for a couple of years now. It is one of our favorites. I skip the oil at the end but that is the only thing we changed. I love this. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
This is really great soup, and quite healthy. The only change I made to the recipe was to use half water/half veggie broth. As others have already mentioned, the vinegar is essential to this soup. Highly recommended, thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
Great lentil soup. It's very similar to how I always made lentil soup, which is what I found appealing. The key is the vinegar at the end. I thought it was a little weird at first but it actually tasted really good. Also, I'm italian so I put grated romano or pamasean cheese on everything... that really enhances the lentils even more. Enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
Excellent! I made this for our meal today, but I did make a few changes. I added about 1 cup of Morning Star Sausage Crumbles and I used Vegetable Broth instead of the water. It is a MUST to spritz a bit of Balsamic Vineagar on the soup when you eat it! YUMMO!!! I made some pits bread and some home made hummus and we had a feast! THanks for posting this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MUMLUVS2COOK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Walnutport, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 274) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States