Greek Lentil Soup (Fakes) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 2, 2012
Excellent! I made this for our meal today, but I did make a few changes. I added about 1 cup of Morning Star Sausage Crumbles and I used Vegetable Broth instead of the water. It is a MUST to spritz a bit of Balsamic Vineagar on the soup when you eat it! YUMMO!!! I made some pits bread and some home made hummus and we had a feast! THanks for posting this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MUMLUVS2COOK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Walnutport, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
great lentil recipe. i followed the advice to go with the red wine vinegar... and we loved it! definitely, the more vinegar the better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sexyboo
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
Great recipe! Married to a Greek and made this for hubby during fasting time for Easter. Its delicious! I used green lentils (forgot it was brown lentils) which is why it turned out lighter. Taste is amazing! Better than the can stuff!!! Would highly recommend this recipe to anyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Markham, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
Nothing like finding traditional Greek recipes on the web. My mother-in-law (she pasted away 15 years ago) made this recipe many times and I would watch. I tried to duplicate this from memory to no avail. Not like Yai-yai's I would here. I tried your recipe and waited for my husbands and daughter's response. Got so many oohs and aahs along with a stroll down memory lane with thoughts of my mother-in-law on how she cooked with so much love. I realized in the past the ingredient I left out was the tomato paste and I also over cooked the lentils. Likeyou said, the vinegar makes this dish. I keep the vinegar on the table because my hubby puts in alot. Thanks a bunch. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
My significant other is Greek but his family recipe is a bit different (I leave that one for him to cook - I don't want to mess with it!). This one sounded really tasty so I tried it and now this is MY recipe for fakes :) I followed the recipe exactly, except all I had in my pantry were red lentils so I skipped the fist step. It turned out great. I think next time I might have to double the recipe because between two of us, we almost finished it all. The vinegar is absolutely necessary to add at the end, it really enhances the flavours. Thanks for the recipe Diana.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
This is an outstanding lentil soup, and even acceptable to my vegan friends. It has lots of flavor and is a very healthy and hearty dish. Thank you for sharing this with us, Diana.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
Good, easy, inexpensive soup! Definitely drizzle some balsamic vinegar on it to up the flavor. I think next time, I'll add more carrots and peas as well, otherwise it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
SO DELICIOUS. Even my mom raved (NO small feat!) I had made fakes before, but it was never this good. I think it was the tomato paste that made it taste more authentic and took it to a new level. A couple small tweaks: Doubled the recipe. I added an extra 2C of water because it got ridiculously thick. A little squeeze of fresh lemon juice for brightness. Anytime I sauté onion or garlic, I ALWAYS deglaze tha pan with a little white wine to get that nice toasted flavor off the pan. Also, I waited to add the carrots until it was almost time to deglaze so they wouldn't turn to mush. I used fresh garden herbs instead of dried: lots of oregano, a little sprig of rosemary and a tiny bit of thyme. Dash of paprika. Simmered on very low for 3 hours beyond recommended time. Again, so fabulous! Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by goapril

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palatine, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
This soup was delicious. I made a double batch and followed the recipe to the letter. I will agree that the red wine vinegar really gives it some zip. Add it, you will not be sorry! I let the soup sit for about 90 minutes before I ate it. I think this helped the flavors meld together. Next time I might add chicken or beef broth instead of water. Maybe even some pancetta to keep the meat eaters happy i.e. the bf. Also, I got some already cooked brown lentil's from the store which was nice as I was able to skip step 1. I looked forward to serving this with a nice salad and bread for a hearty and healthy well rounded meal. I highly recommend this soup!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Virginia_Ham

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Half Moon Bay, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
I'm one that tends to be uninterested in a recipe if it doesn't have a lot of different flavors listed, but decided to try this one on a lazy night and I am SO glad I did! Although the flavors are simple, they're in a perfect balance. I tried it without the vinegar and it was good, but later decided to take the advice of other reviewers and it was a wise decision. I only made a slight change- first, I made a double batch, so I doubled the ingredients. Also, we didn't have any minced garlic, so I used powder, and I made it with one quart water, one quart beef broth. After pulling it off the eye and letting it sit for a minute I added about 1/2 cup vinegar and let it sit for a few more minutes. The leftovers are fantastic and the flavors have really come together, letting the soup sit overnight. This will be in our rotation from now on, so thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aries84

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 266) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States