Greek Lentil Soup (Fakes) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
This soup is FANTASTIC......easy to make, healthy and so delicious. I've used both red wine vinegar or a fresh squeeze of lemon....Mmmmmm. New favorite recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
Easy and delicious dish. I made it with some adjustments though. I cooked and added some sweet Italian sausage in and made the dish less watery (more like a stew). I also recommend to sprinkle it with wine vinegar, it brings up the flavor of the dish. My husband doesn't get excited about lentils but he approved it in this form. Will be cooking it again. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Taya

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
Just Ok. kind of bland. next time I will use chicken stock instead of water. I liked it with balsamic vinegar more than the red wine vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KAREN DOWNES

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
I really enjoyed the rustic simplicity of this soup. Instead of water, I used homemade veggie stock as well as whole sprigs of fresh oregano and rosemary instead of dried herbs (removed the stems after cooking). And taking the advice of the recipe submitter and other reviewers before me, I added vinegar right before serving -- not to be skipped! It really brightens the flavor as sometimes cooked brown lentils can be rather flat-tasting. Very, very good ~ thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
This is my favorite lentil soup. I like it with either red wine vinegar or balsamic. Even my picky eaters will eat this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
Excellent! The only change I made is to use chicken broth instead of water. Served with the red wine vinegar, the drizzle of olive oil, and toast with chevre spread on it... oh my! Absolutely delicious - I will be making again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
This was delicious!!!! I let the lentils soak for an hour and a half before cooking, and so didn't need to boil/rinse as in step 1. They came out very soft. Also used chicken broth and left out the bay leaves as I was out of them. Definitely add the vinegar, 1-2 tablespoons per bowl right before you serve. Great Recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lincoln, California, USA
Living In: Woodland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
This is very good and healthy too. Red wine vinegar is mandatory, the traditional greek way. I've used chicken or beef broth for extra flavour and cumin & chili powder instead of oregano and rosemary and it's very good too. I skip the tomato paste and use a spoon or two of tomato sauce, but it could be skipped entirely and still taste great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
Yum this recipe is awesome. I loved it, very flavorful and easy to make! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
So healthy, hearty and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 247) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Lentil Soup

See how to put a Hungarian twist on comforting lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States