Greek Lentil Soup (Fakes) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
This was a tasty, simple and filling meal. I do find that lentils require ALOT more seasoning; like soup beans they tend to suck up the salt, etc. However, this is a great base that can easily be spiced up a bit with additions of whatever suits your fancy at the time. Serve with some warm naan bread and a dollop of sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
This is the first time I've ever left a review for a recipe. I made this tonight and just have to say that this soup is amazing!!! It's so simple and quick to make, but the result tastes like a sweet Greek grandma slaved away in the kitchen all day. It's nutritious, delicious and filling- but not heavy. I have two young boys who turn their nose up at anything that isn't pizza or chicken nuggets and they both loved this soup! I'm so glad I found this recipe. It's now our new meatless Monday dinner. Thank you for sharing this!! It's a new favorite in my family! : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jacolyn
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
Delicious and healthy! I followed the first two steps exactly and then dumped it all in the slow cooker for a few hours. Served with homemade bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacolyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beacon, New York, USA
Living In: Fishkill, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
I have made this recipe a couple of times and have thought it was fantastic. Instead of using water, I use chicken stock instead. I think it gives the soup a fuller taste even if it adds a few more calories. I also use balsamic vinegar at the end instead of red wine vinegar, which turns out really well. Thanks for submitting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ross Friedman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
My husband and I hated it...it was bland so I added a tab more of the seasonings it called for but it didn't help much. It was pretty boring and I honestly don't know what to change to make it taste better. I won't be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
very good. 4/5 stars due to personal preference for more vegetables and color (I added celery, carrots, spinach).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
Love love LOVE this! I've made it at least over a dozen times by now, my family and friends can't get enough! I've tweaked it so it's perfect for me. Few small changes: I use one teaspoon oregano, one teaspoon rosemary, and 3 bay leaves. Also I use 3 tablespoons tomato paste. Putting 1/2 tablespoon of the red wine vinegar at the end really gives it a nice depth of flavor. Try it with feta cheese and sriracha (for an extra kick) for even more flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RainbowEyes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nadiuchis
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
I did not change a thing about this recipe and it was really, really good. My family loved it. I loved it with the red wine vinegar. I will, for sure, be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nadiuchis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
Great recipe. Definitely use the red wine vinegar at the end, it really adds a lot to the soup. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karib

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
This is the second time I have made this recipe. The first time I followed the instructions exactly and it turned out well. A little light on the flavour but still quite tasty. This time when I made it I did not drain the lentils and I added diced potatoes. I cooked the lentils until they were almost done then added the potatoes. After about ten minutes I added the spices/seasonings and gave it a good stir. I only sauteed the onions, not the garlic. When it was about five minutes away from being done I added the tomato paste, carrot, garlic, adjusted the seasoning, and added a bit of chicken base. It was very good this time around. Overall I think this is a good recipe to use and can be adjusted to taste. Will save this one. **ALWAYS sort and rinse dry beans, lentils, etc before use. They may contain bits of soil, rocks, and other debri.**
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 257) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States