Greek Lemon Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2005
This is an excellent recipe! We have had Avegolemono (it's Greek name)many, many times in restaurants. Our FAVORITE makes it a little less rich (less eggs),a lot more rice and chicken, and with just-a-little thinner broth. I will adjust this recipe to our tastes next time;but this was a wonderful example of Greek Lemon Rice soup. Thank you so much,for the recipe! I suspect the reviews that said it was too salty, were using 'boullion' or a brand of soup base that was very salty. My brand soup base "Vogue" did not have a lot of salt (I bought it at an health food store). Also, I never add the rice into the large pot;but only in the INDIVIDUAL serving bowls; I mix it in JUST prior to serving. It works better for leftovers;you never wind up with puffed up rice mush this way. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
362 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by somethingdifferentagain?!
Home Town: Pleasant Ridge, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gaylord, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2004
I think this is a great soup! I as usual changed a few things. First I do not precook the rice, I added olive oil to pan, and cooked the chopped onion, carrots,celery and rice for about 10 min. Than I added the broth, lemon juice, 1/2 cup white wine, and 1 can of "Creamed Chicken soup" instead of the butter and flour. I used only FOUR egg yolks. I also did not add more chicken. Prepared this way my boys really liked it - a good thickness, but not too thick. Really GOOD!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
264 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Berlin, Maryland, USA
Living In: Potomac Falls, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2006
I was only going to give this 4 stars since it was not a hit with my family, though I loved it, and my best friend and her two kids were fighting over the sample that I brought over to them. Alas, I finished the remains when I returned home and decided it needs 5 stars. Made the following changes: just used 1 1/2 TBS chicken soup base in water; eliminated the celery; sauteed onion with 2 cloves garlic in EVOO before adding to soup; only used 2 TBS butter & flour to make a light roux, added some broth to the roux before adding back into soup; added 1/2 cup uncooked orzo pasta during last 10-15 mins of cooking; only used 4 egg yolks; used a roasted chicken from grocery which I skinned, boned, and chopped before adding to soup; garnished w/ fresh, minced parsley
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
239 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIMALA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Skokie, Illinois, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2006
This was my first attempt at a greek dish and my fiance loved it! He is greek and he said the recipe was perfect, just the right amount of lemon. This is a definite keeper! I do want to mention that instead of canned chicken broth I used real chicken broth from a whole chicken (4.25 lbs) I boiled for the recipe. I then shredded the meat from the whole chicken to add to the soup. I also added 2 teaspoons of Greek seasoning. Lastly, I used a full cup of the veggies instead of the 1/2 cup it called for. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Braintree, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2001
My whole family loves this soup! I modified this a little bit, though. I only added 4 egg yolks to cut down on the fat a little bit. I also substituted orzo pasta for the rice. I actually prefer this style chicken soup with the fresh lemon juice over traditional chicken and dumplings. It is so easy to make, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2002
I actually made this soup twice. I thought I must have made the recipe wrong because it was sooooo salty and lemony. I reduced the base to 2 tbsp and the lemon to 1/3 cup and it was still too strong for my test and I'm a salt lover. I was very disappointed because I love the lemon chicken soup I get in restaurants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2002
Wonderful soup! Added more chicken and rice, used only 4 egg yolks and 4 tbls of chicken bouillon powder. Turned out GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2002
I normally love Greek lemon soup.......But this was SOOOOO salty!!!!! I'm not sure if it was the type of base I used or if the recipe has a typeo when it calls for 6 tablespoons of base. I will try this again with less base.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2003
Creamy and hearty, like the kind you get in a restaurant. I cut the chicken boullion in half, and use low-sodium broth, otherwise it's too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Germantown, Maryland, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
This soup was a huge hit at our friend's yearly Greek party. His family is Greek, he had me add a total of about 12 lemons, he said "you just cant have too much lemon!" The key to making it creamy is at the end. You put the hot broth into a food processor or blender and turn it on. Add the egg/lemon juice mixture in a slow stream to the broth and keep blending for a few minutes until it is frothy. You would never guess there is egg in the finished product. I LOVE this soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 331) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Greek Chicken

See how to make simple Greek-inspired grilled chicken.

Catherine's Spicy Chicken Soup

This delicious soup takes a little time but is oh so worth it.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States