Greek Lemon Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2005
This is an excellent recipe! We have had Avegolemono (it's Greek name)many, many times in restaurants. Our FAVORITE makes it a little less rich (less eggs),a lot more rice and chicken, and with just-a-little thinner broth. I will adjust this recipe to our tastes next time;but this was a wonderful example of Greek Lemon Rice soup. Thank you so much,for the recipe! I suspect the reviews that said it was too salty, were using 'boullion' or a brand of soup base that was very salty. My brand soup base "Vogue" did not have a lot of salt (I bought it at an health food store). Also, I never add the rice into the large pot;but only in the INDIVIDUAL serving bowls; I mix it in JUST prior to serving. It works better for leftovers;you never wind up with puffed up rice mush this way. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
345 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by somethingdifferentagain?!
Home Town: Pleasant Ridge, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gaylord, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2004
I think this is a great soup! I as usual changed a few things. First I do not precook the rice, I added olive oil to pan, and cooked the chopped onion, carrots,celery and rice for about 10 min. Than I added the broth, lemon juice, 1/2 cup white wine, and 1 can of "Creamed Chicken soup" instead of the butter and flour. I used only FOUR egg yolks. I also did not add more chicken. Prepared this way my boys really liked it - a good thickness, but not too thick. Really GOOD!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
255 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Berlin, Maryland, USA
Living In: Potomac Falls, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2006
I was only going to give this 4 stars since it was not a hit with my family, though I loved it, and my best friend and her two kids were fighting over the sample that I brought over to them. Alas, I finished the remains when I returned home and decided it needs 5 stars. Made the following changes: just used 1 1/2 TBS chicken soup base in water; eliminated the celery; sauteed onion with 2 cloves garlic in EVOO before adding to soup; only used 2 TBS butter & flour to make a light roux, added some broth to the roux before adding back into soup; added 1/2 cup uncooked orzo pasta during last 10-15 mins of cooking; only used 4 egg yolks; used a roasted chicken from grocery which I skinned, boned, and chopped before adding to soup; garnished w/ fresh, minced parsley
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
223 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIMALA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Skokie, Illinois, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2006
This was my first attempt at a greek dish and my fiance loved it! He is greek and he said the recipe was perfect, just the right amount of lemon. This is a definite keeper! I do want to mention that instead of canned chicken broth I used real chicken broth from a whole chicken (4.25 lbs) I boiled for the recipe. I then shredded the meat from the whole chicken to add to the soup. I also added 2 teaspoons of Greek seasoning. Lastly, I used a full cup of the veggies instead of the 1/2 cup it called for. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Braintree, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2001
My whole family loves this soup! I modified this a little bit, though. I only added 4 egg yolks to cut down on the fat a little bit. I also substituted orzo pasta for the rice. I actually prefer this style chicken soup with the fresh lemon juice over traditional chicken and dumplings. It is so easy to make, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2002
I actually made this soup twice. I thought I must have made the recipe wrong because it was sooooo salty and lemony. I reduced the base to 2 tbsp and the lemon to 1/3 cup and it was still too strong for my test and I'm a salt lover. I was very disappointed because I love the lemon chicken soup I get in restaurants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2002
Wonderful soup! Added more chicken and rice, used only 4 egg yolks and 4 tbls of chicken bouillon powder. Turned out GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2002
I normally love Greek lemon soup.......But this was SOOOOO salty!!!!! I'm not sure if it was the type of base I used or if the recipe has a typeo when it calls for 6 tablespoons of base. I will try this again with less base.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2003
Creamy and hearty, like the kind you get in a restaurant. I cut the chicken boullion in half, and use low-sodium broth, otherwise it's too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Germantown, Maryland, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
This soup was a huge hit at our friend's yearly Greek party. His family is Greek, he had me add a total of about 12 lemons, he said "you just cant have too much lemon!" The key to making it creamy is at the end. You put the hot broth into a food processor or blender and turn it on. Add the egg/lemon juice mixture in a slow stream to the broth and keep blending for a few minutes until it is frothy. You would never guess there is egg in the finished product. I LOVE this soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 320) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Greek Chicken

See how to make simple Greek-inspired grilled chicken.

Greek Chicken Kozani

See how to make a savory Greek-inspired chicken dish with prunes and paprika.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States