Greek Lemon Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
Very good! I added only 6 egg yolks since that's all I had, I substituted orzo for rice, and added a little lemon pepper seasoning. So tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Hart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
I made this for the first time today and it turned out GREAT! I did not have any fresh lemons but used lemon juice instead, and as per other reviews I only used 4 egg yokes. I added leftover chicken and put white rice in bowls and poured soup over....Perfect! My teenage sons thought it was a nice light soup on a hot day. It does have a strong lemon flavor but we enjoyed it very much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
EDIT: I went back and gave this 5 stars rather than my original four. This has become such a favorite ... I still stand by my original changes and have found using less lemon everyone enjoys it. Very good on the first tasting and probably better tomorrow (if there is any left - 16 servings? No way!). I can't imagine how salty this would have been with the 6 tbsp of chix soup base. I didn't want to go the expense of "Better than Boullian"(wouldn't use it again) and bought Knorr's chix boullian cubes - one cube was just enough. Added just under 1/2 c. of lemon juice, orzo rather than rice, and 4 egg yollks v. 8 - based on comments of other reviews. As good as any quality Greek restaurants and perhaps better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jaylivg
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
This was my first time making lemon rice soup , although the recipe was so yummy , i have to give it 4 stars , reason is , you DON'T need 6 TBSP. soup base , i only used 3 tbsp and it still way too salty . I ended up have to add a little water , to tone it down . Next time i probably just use 1-2 tbsp. soup base . In my opinion unless you use water instead of chicken broth you don't need 6 tbsp. of soup base . All and all it was easy recipe and delicious .. minus the 6 tbsp. of soup base :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jaylivg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crown Point, Indiana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
Love this soup...I am eating right now and can't wait for lunchtime at work tomorrow for left overs. I browned the onions, celery and carrot in a bit of butter first before adding any broth. I also used orzo instead of rice and put it in at the beginning so it could cook....to cook the orzo, held a low boil for 8 minutes of the 20 minute simmer and only used 3 eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
Good but too salty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2011
Delicious, made exactly as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
Made this twice, and we love it! I had to cut back on the soup stock and egg yolk, but it was delicious nonetheless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alaksandra

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
I think I was expecting something more zing-y and lemon-y. Rather bland, not a do over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
I made homemade broth with a whole chicken (didn't add any salt in anticipation of the too salty problem many people had...I didn't have that problem at all) and I substituted orzo for white rice. I added 1/2 c raw orzo when I added the butter/flour mixture. It came out great! I garnished with a bit of feta, which really adds to the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trooworld

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithville, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 331) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Greek Chicken

See how to make simple Greek-inspired grilled chicken.

Catherine's Spicy Chicken Soup

This delicious soup takes a little time but is oh so worth it.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States