Greek Lemon Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
Very good! I added only 6 egg yolks since that's all I had, I substituted orzo for rice, and added a little lemon pepper seasoning. So tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erinhart80

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
I made this for the first time today and it turned out GREAT! I did not have any fresh lemons but used lemon juice instead, and as per other reviews I only used 4 egg yokes. I added leftover chicken and put white rice in bowls and poured soup over....Perfect! My teenage sons thought it was a nice light soup on a hot day. It does have a strong lemon flavor but we enjoyed it very much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
EDIT: I went back and gave this 5 stars rather than my original four. This has become such a favorite ... I still stand by my original changes and have found using less lemon everyone enjoys it. Very good on the first tasting and probably better tomorrow (if there is any left - 16 servings? No way!). I can't imagine how salty this would have been with the 6 tbsp of chix soup base. I didn't want to go the expense of "Better than Boullian"(wouldn't use it again) and bought Knorr's chix boullian cubes - one cube was just enough. Added just under 1/2 c. of lemon juice, orzo rather than rice, and 4 egg yollks v. 8 - based on comments of other reviews. As good as any quality Greek restaurants and perhaps better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jaylivg
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
This was my first time making lemon rice soup , although the recipe was so yummy , i have to give it 4 stars , reason is , you DON'T need 6 TBSP. soup base , i only used 3 tbsp and it still way too salty . I ended up have to add a little water , to tone it down . Next time i probably just use 1-2 tbsp. soup base . In my opinion unless you use water instead of chicken broth you don't need 6 tbsp. of soup base . All and all it was easy recipe and delicious .. minus the 6 tbsp. of soup base :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jaylivg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crown Point, Indiana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
Love this soup...I am eating right now and can't wait for lunchtime at work tomorrow for left overs. I browned the onions, celery and carrot in a bit of butter first before adding any broth. I also used orzo instead of rice and put it in at the beginning so it could cook....to cook the orzo, held a low boil for 8 minutes of the 20 minute simmer and only used 3 eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
Good but too salty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2011
Delicious, made exactly as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
Made this twice, and we love it! I had to cut back on the soup stock and egg yolk, but it was delicious nonetheless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alaksandra

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
I think I was expecting something more zing-y and lemon-y. Rather bland, not a do over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
I made homemade broth with a whole chicken (didn't add any salt in anticipation of the too salty problem many people had...I didn't have that problem at all) and I substituted orzo for white rice. I added 1/2 c raw orzo when I added the butter/flour mixture. It came out great! I garnished with a bit of feta, which really adds to the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trooworld

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithville, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 321) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Greek Chicken

See how to make simple Greek-inspired grilled chicken.

Greek Chicken Kozani

See how to make a savory Greek-inspired chicken dish with prunes and paprika.

Catherine's Spicy Chicken Soup

This delicious soup takes a little time but is oh so worth it.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States