Greek Lemon Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
I followed ideas from reviewer # 3. Tastes just like Daphne's restaurant soup! Tried many times this is the closest copy w changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
Absolutely delicious. This is exactly what I wanted -- just like the homemade soup served in Greek family restaurants in the Chicago area. I did add a bit of heavy cream at the end because I like a creamier soup. Otherwise, followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
I made this soup EXACTLY as stated. I love lemon, but thought this was too lemony. Next time i would only use a 1/4c lemon. Plus, i don't really see that all these egg yolks and butter really improve the taste, so i would cut that as well. I wanted to see exactly how much better it made it with all the fat and calories, but i wasn't impressed. I could make it much healthier with exactly the same flavor. The lemon, chicken, and veggies is really where the flavor comes from. The rest should be cut way down. Plus, i would add more rice and chicken as suggested in other reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy Burkert Wisley

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Smith, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
love this recipe! Hubs loves it too. I used one chicken cube bullion in place of the base, because it's what I had. I followed a few other comments about cutting the egg yolks down to 4. I thought it tasted just fine. Oh and I used a box of the chicken broth, I think it was the 48oz, and added 2c water, so I don't think it was too salty at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KUJayhawksfan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Junction City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Chanute, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
This could have been five stars if I had read the comments about cutting the soup base in half. As written it is way to salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
This was pretty awesome. My boys order this soup at every Greek restaurant we go to, and they agreed this was at least as good, if not better. Made this as the original recipe prescribed except for very minor tweaks: 1) I cooked the onion and celery in olive oil first; 2) I didn't use the flour/margarine for thickening as the soup didn't need it; 3) I used 8C water and 6TB chicken base; and 4) I only used six egg yolks. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
This flavorful soup is adaptable and easy to prepare. My version was short about 2 tbsp. of soup base and 4 eggs and included a bowlful of leftover cooked rice (@ 4 cups) and shredded chicken from two pieces of a kabob. Topped with fresh snipped parsley. Even with the modifications the soup was thick, rich, creamy and delicious. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
Ok. I used only stock and it was sooo good! I also added a can of sliced green chiles at the end because that's what it seemed like it needed. I'm not sure you could classify it as greek any more. It tasted more like a white chicken tortilla soup. It definitely gave me a new taste to play around with. Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
I used 3 tbls soup base as suggested by others. The soup is delicious but needs to be poured over 1/2 rice in the bowl. I didn't add it to the soup because it was such a minimal amount. The soup is too tart with out the rice. But absolutely delicious with the rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
Pretty good. Though I, too, found it too lemony and a bit too salty. Added more rice and will add more chicken and broth next time as it was too thick for my taste. Overall, though, pretty good. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 331) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Greek Chicken

See how to make simple Greek-inspired grilled chicken.

Catherine's Spicy Chicken Soup

This delicious soup takes a little time but is oh so worth it.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States