Greek Lemon Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
amazing soup with great flavor. Will definitely make again. I only used 3 eggs and half the amount of margarine and flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
I followed ideas from reviewer # 3. Tastes just like Daphne's restaurant soup! Tried many times this is the closest copy w changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
Absolutely delicious. This is exactly what I wanted -- just like the homemade soup served in Greek family restaurants in the Chicago area. I did add a bit of heavy cream at the end because I like a creamier soup. Otherwise, followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
I made this soup EXACTLY as stated. I love lemon, but thought this was too lemony. Next time i would only use a 1/4c lemon. Plus, i don't really see that all these egg yolks and butter really improve the taste, so i would cut that as well. I wanted to see exactly how much better it made it with all the fat and calories, but i wasn't impressed. I could make it much healthier with exactly the same flavor. The lemon, chicken, and veggies is really where the flavor comes from. The rest should be cut way down. Plus, i would add more rice and chicken as suggested in other reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy Burkert Wisley

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Smith, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
love this recipe! Hubs loves it too. I used one chicken cube bullion in place of the base, because it's what I had. I followed a few other comments about cutting the egg yolks down to 4. I thought it tasted just fine. Oh and I used a box of the chicken broth, I think it was the 48oz, and added 2c water, so I don't think it was too salty at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KUJayhawksfan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Junction City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Chanute, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
This could have been five stars if I had read the comments about cutting the soup base in half. As written it is way to salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
This was pretty awesome. My boys order this soup at every Greek restaurant we go to, and they agreed this was at least as good, if not better. Made this as the original recipe prescribed except for very minor tweaks: 1) I cooked the onion and celery in olive oil first; 2) I didn't use the flour/margarine for thickening as the soup didn't need it; 3) I used 8C water and 6TB chicken base; and 4) I only used six egg yolks. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
This flavorful soup is adaptable and easy to prepare. My version was short about 2 tbsp. of soup base and 4 eggs and included a bowlful of leftover cooked rice (@ 4 cups) and shredded chicken from two pieces of a kabob. Topped with fresh snipped parsley. Even with the modifications the soup was thick, rich, creamy and delicious. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
Ok. I used only stock and it was sooo good! I also added a can of sliced green chiles at the end because that's what it seemed like it needed. I'm not sure you could classify it as greek any more. It tasted more like a white chicken tortilla soup. It definitely gave me a new taste to play around with. Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
I used 3 tbls soup base as suggested by others. The soup is delicious but needs to be poured over 1/2 rice in the bowl. I didn't add it to the soup because it was such a minimal amount. The soup is too tart with out the rice. But absolutely delicious with the rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 322) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Greek Chicken

See how to make simple Greek-inspired grilled chicken.

Greek Chicken Kozani

See how to make a savory Greek-inspired chicken dish with prunes and paprika.

Catherine's Spicy Chicken Soup

This delicious soup takes a little time but is oh so worth it.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States