Greek Lemon Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
I used low-sodium chicken broth, and sodium-free soup base, it turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARKHEISLER

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
I cut the recipe in half. Did not use soup base at all. I kept the rice separate so people could add as much or as little as they wanted. EXCELLENT! Hit the spot, exactly what I was craving. Light, creamy, lemony, Delish. I melted the butter before mixing with the flour and also shredded the chicken instead of cubing. I will be making this again and again! Thank you for this great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
This was very good with some modifications. I'm very glad I read previous reviews before I made this. I halved the egg yolks and soup base, added 1 1/2 cups of cooked orzo instead of rice and also flavored the soup with 2 teaspoons of oregano (I would recommend Greek seasoning, but I didn't have any so the oregano worked). The recipe as written would not have been as good. Thanks for all the suggestions. My two year olds each ate three bowls!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
Great lemon taste and consistency but too salty. Will maybe cut back on the soup base next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
I love this recipe. However I'm not a fan of the egg so I leave it out. It's definitely better than plain old chicken soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWAITT

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
excellent soup. This is one of my favorites. I added more chicken, chopped spinach and instead of rice, Shirataki (tofu) noodles. It made it more of a complete meal with more protein and vegetables. I was afraid of tempering the egg, but it worked perfectly. I did use only 4 eggs and that really tasted fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by adriana mooney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
excellent choice for winter nights.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Athens, Attica, Greece

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
Great chicken soup recipe! My family gobbled it up! My changes: added 2 tsp Greek seasoning to the lemon base; and I used orzo instead of rice. This one is a keeper! I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
I have been buying a frozen version of this soup at Costco and I am thrilled to have found a reciptew to make it fresh and freeze myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
This soup hit the spot and is great when you have to feed a family who is suffering with colds. I added a cup of orzo instead of rice and used half the eggyolks. I made the roux with butter instead of margarine because that's what I had. We used fresh lemons and parsley from our yard. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cologne, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 321) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Greek Chicken

See how to make simple Greek-inspired grilled chicken.

Greek Chicken Kozani

See how to make a savory Greek-inspired chicken dish with prunes and paprika.

Catherine's Spicy Chicken Soup

This delicious soup takes a little time but is oh so worth it.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States