Greek Lemon Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
5 stars for an excellent base! With a few tweeks, this has a permanent place in the weekly rotation. I add 1-2 t. greek seasoning (from McCormick) with the first simmer. No celery for me (personal preference) and double the carrots and onion. Chicken soup base varies, and I only need 3T. for flavor. Sub butter for margarine. I also use 5 egg yolks and 2+ cups of rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by L Brennan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
I love this soup and have had it many times in Greek restaurants. I was happy to find this recipe to try it myself, and it was just as good as any I've ever had. I think it's important to note that I added no soup base, as I don't use the stuff. It was more than fine without it. I cut the recipe in half as I didn't need 16 servings. So this is where my only issue with this recipe lies. There is no way this serves 8 when cut in half, never mind 16 when not. I ended up adding more broth just to increase the volume. Fortunately, that didn't dilute the flavor much and only made it a little thinner. If the serving size had been accurate, I would have made the full recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
My whole family loved this recipe. It has just the right amount of lemon in it. It was just a tad salty so I may reduce the amount of chicken base next time, but otherwise it's excellent as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mpls_Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
This is a truly wonderful recipe! It has a great body and richness yet is light in flavor. I give the original recipe 4 stars since it does need a couple changes IMO. Since I've made it 3 times now, I do have some changes that improved it. First off- the amt of "chicken soup base" is too much for me. Of course this will greatly depend on what brand or kind you use, but it was too salty for me so I adjusted to 2 TBSP. I don't see how 6 TBSP of any brand could work. I use butter instead of margarine simply because I never have margarine in the house. And I only use 4 egg yolks. Don't be afraid of the egg yolks, it just makes a wonderful almost-creamy full bodied soup! But I don't think you need 8. Do be sure to temper the yolks properly or you'll end up with scrambled eggs. I have made the rice separate and in the soup. You can really do either, it works both ways, but is thicker when made in the soup. When I made this last night I got oooohhhs and aaaaahs with "this is delicious" said about 5 times. Served with warm pita and tzatziki. That was nice for a change but it is honestly a meal in itself as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skoo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stettler, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
my husband loves the soup we get at our local greek restaurant so i prepared this soup for him at home. he LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lmaccoll

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
This is very good. I changed it as follows: Only used 4 egg yolks (didn't like it with 8) Used a lot less Chicken soup base - just did this to taste. I also used some diced meat from a Lemon Pepper Rotisseree chicken which added a nice flavor. Have made this with both white and brown rice and it was good both ways. I also omitted the Flour / butter paste....it was thick enough without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
I used low-sodium chicken broth, and sodium-free soup base, it turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARKHEISLER

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
I cut the recipe in half. Did not use soup base at all. I kept the rice separate so people could add as much or as little as they wanted. EXCELLENT! Hit the spot, exactly what I was craving. Light, creamy, lemony, Delish. I melted the butter before mixing with the flour and also shredded the chicken instead of cubing. I will be making this again and again! Thank you for this great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
This was very good with some modifications. I'm very glad I read previous reviews before I made this. I halved the egg yolks and soup base, added 1 1/2 cups of cooked orzo instead of rice and also flavored the soup with 2 teaspoons of oregano (I would recommend Greek seasoning, but I didn't have any so the oregano worked). The recipe as written would not have been as good. Thanks for all the suggestions. My two year olds each ate three bowls!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
Great lemon taste and consistency but too salty. Will maybe cut back on the soup base next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 327) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Greek Chicken

See how to make simple Greek-inspired grilled chicken.

Catherine's Spicy Chicken Soup

This delicious soup takes a little time but is oh so worth it.

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States