Greek Lemon Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
I just finished my bowl of this restaurant quality soup. My husband, who is half greek, declared this the best lemon chicken soup he's ever had. I followed the recipe exactly and wouldn't change a thing. Thank you for such a delicious recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
What a great recipe! I have had this soup several times a restaurants and was happy to find a great version to make at home. While the flavor was a big hit, I am only scoring it 4 because the prep is a big pain. Lots of steps, lots of mixing bowls involved. I have made it a few times. Unlike SOME users, my rating is for the actual recipe. I have made it a few more times with a few tweaks listed below. Alternative suggestions - Orzo instead of rice Doubling veggies Lessening or omitting soup base
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
Made this for dinner tonite and it was so good. Started it in crockpot overnite on low to cook the vegetables and the chicken (which I added cubed and uncooked to the crockpot). After work, I took it out of the fridge and heated the soup on the stove and added the roux and the 4 egg yolks as recommended by many reviewers. I also used only 2.5 tbs chicken boullion granules. I cooked and added orzo instead of rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
I thought this was an excellent soup! I did only use half the amount of lemon juice and would probably add more chicken and rice next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
This recipe needs dill. It's not Greek without out it. That's a big omission.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
Love this soup! I make a lot of soups but this is my fav. A few changes...I saute the veggies before adding the broth. I only use 4 egg yokes and make sure the small amount of soup has cooled a bit before adding to the eggs. I use brown rice (already cooked in bag) and use 1 1/2 Cup of chopped rotisserie chicken from the grocery store. And,I add a little white wine at the end. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
BOth my kids (5 years old and 3 years old) have a cold and this soup is the best for it. Soothes the throat and fills their bellies. My daughter is still slurping it down as I type this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
Made this as is. This recipe as it is written is too salty and doesn't have enough of the carrots, celery, rice and chicken in my opinion. It also doesn't mention the specifics of how to add the egg yolk. To get 5 stars it would have to be good written as is. Is it a good START as a recipe? Yes it is. Cooks who are familiar with this soup and know what it should taste like, will just need to adjust it for their own tastes and requirements though. Others not familiar with it will need to do the same although this is normally a "lemony" soup so people complaining of its "lemony-ness" probably should do a different soup entirely. Also the lemon tends to highen the saltiness slightly. For changes, read other people's reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2014
I didn't add any chicken and this recipe was still very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2014
I made this a couple days ago when we really needed to go grocery shopping so I didn't have much on hand. I did have enough to make recipe though, which was great. I served it with some leftover naan that needed to be used up. I did not have onion or celery (we honestly don't care for them anyway) so I used extra carrots instead. I used the full amount of egg yolks called for. I probably had a bit more rice than called for, as I had some leftover from a previous dinner and I just put rice in our bowls and poured the soup over the top. It was easy, filling, and my husband said he liked it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkstevens09

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ortonville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 324) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Greek Chicken

See how to make simple Greek-inspired grilled chicken.

Catherine's Spicy Chicken Soup

This delicious soup takes a little time but is oh so worth it.

Greek Chicken Kozani

See how to make a savory Greek-inspired chicken dish with prunes and paprika.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States