Greek Lemon Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
I thought this was an excellent soup! I did only use half the amount of lemon juice and would probably add more chicken and rice next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
This recipe needs dill. It's not Greek without out it. That's a big omission.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
Love this soup! I make a lot of soups but this is my fav. A few changes...I saute the veggies before adding the broth. I only use 4 egg yokes and make sure the small amount of soup has cooled a bit before adding to the eggs. I use brown rice (already cooked in bag) and use 1 1/2 Cup of chopped rotisserie chicken from the grocery store. And,I add a little white wine at the end. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
BOth my kids (5 years old and 3 years old) have a cold and this soup is the best for it. Soothes the throat and fills their bellies. My daughter is still slurping it down as I type this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
Made this as is. This recipe as it is written is too salty and doesn't have enough of the carrots, celery, rice and chicken in my opinion. It also doesn't mention the specifics of how to add the egg yolk. To get 5 stars it would have to be good written as is. Is it a good START as a recipe? Yes it is. Cooks who are familiar with this soup and know what it should taste like, will just need to adjust it for their own tastes and requirements though. Others not familiar with it will need to do the same although this is normally a "lemony" soup so people complaining of its "lemony-ness" probably should do a different soup entirely. Also the lemon tends to highen the saltiness slightly. For changes, read other people's reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2014
I didn't add any chicken and this recipe was still very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2014
I made this a couple days ago when we really needed to go grocery shopping so I didn't have much on hand. I did have enough to make recipe though, which was great. I served it with some leftover naan that needed to be used up. I did not have onion or celery (we honestly don't care for them anyway) so I used extra carrots instead. I used the full amount of egg yolks called for. I probably had a bit more rice than called for, as I had some leftover from a previous dinner and I just put rice in our bowls and poured the soup over the top. It was easy, filling, and my husband said he liked it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkstevens09

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ortonville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
I loved this soup. I, too, reduced the chicken base (I used Caldo de Pollo) to 4 Tbs and the egg yolks to 4. I added two large grilled, chopped chicken breasts and two cups of prepared white rice. I wish there was more broth, so I might modify the amount and the roux as well, to retain the viscosity. Yummy, yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cupertino, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
The only thing I changed was I didnt use the soup base because I was out of it(thought I had it but didnt). This is restaurant quality soup. Doesnt need any adjustments!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
Yasou! This is an excellent pre- Greek Ap that cleanses the pallet with a clear clean lemony broth. I added a pinch of fresh parsley for a garnish. Tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 321) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Greek Chicken

See how to make simple Greek-inspired grilled chicken.

Greek Chicken Kozani

See how to make a savory Greek-inspired chicken dish with prunes and paprika.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States