Greek Lemon Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
I loved this soup. I, too, reduced the chicken base (I used Caldo de Pollo) to 4 Tbs and the egg yolks to 4. I added two large grilled, chopped chicken breasts and two cups of prepared white rice. I wish there was more broth, so I might modify the amount and the roux as well, to retain the viscosity. Yummy, yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cupertino, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
The only thing I changed was I didnt use the soup base because I was out of it(thought I had it but didnt). This is restaurant quality soup. Doesnt need any adjustments!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
Yasou! This is an excellent pre- Greek Ap that cleanses the pallet with a clear clean lemony broth. I added a pinch of fresh parsley for a garnish. Tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
Darnit, second time I've done this to an otherwise perfectly good batch. It must be noted that you pour the yolk VERY slowly into the soup, otherwise you get an egg drop soup consistency. This should be emphasized.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
Just finished making this recipe and I will never go back to regular chicken soup!! I did modify it a bit... only 5 egg yolks and didnt add all of butter and flour mixture. I also used "no salt added" chicken broth and cooked my rice in chicken broth plus added garlic....delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisamaewest
Home Town: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
This is the best recipe I have ever found for Greek Lemon Chicken Soup! Delicious!!! It turned thick and hearty. Perfect! I am very grateful for all the modification tips and tricks. Like most, I only put in 4 egg yolks, sautéed the veggies and rice in evvo, and omitted the soup base for 3 bouillon cubes. I make my own stock for the first time using a whole chicken and spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
After reading reviews I also, cut back to 6 yolks and on the soup base and used the juices from my baked chicken instead, added more rice, we like it more hearty and unlike others, I added more pepper and lemon, my big fat Greek family loves lemon! Not my Mother's Avgolemono but it passed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shawnee Mission, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
Different and yummy. Doubled this recipe but added 3 cups total rice straight to broth and only used 5 egg yolks. Will make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
This might be my favorite soup recipe. I have made it many times and sometimes I don't have fresh lemon juice, but bottled juice doesn't seem to change it much. Also, I only use 4 egg yolks & it is definitely rich enough for me. This tastes just as good as any soup you would get in a greek restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 314) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Greek Chicken

See how to make simple Greek-inspired grilled chicken.

Greek Chicken Kozani

See how to make a savory Greek-inspired chicken dish with prunes and paprika.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States