Greek Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2003
I was hoping that this would be a simpler version of the real Greek lasagna, pastitso, but it wasn't. As it is, it's rather a bland mess. I had to alter it substantially to get something we were happy eating. First up, you need a flavourful sauce as a sturdy base for the pasta. After browning the meat and onions, add the tomatoes, salt and pepper, and extra seasonings of oregano, garlic, and parsley (a splash of red wine is not only traditional but delicious), and allow to simmer until slightly reduced and flavourful. Only then should you add the pasta and cheeses. The white sauce is also very weak: thin-looking and thin-tasting. It needs to be made with all purpose flour, and it also needs seasoning with salt, pepper and nutmeg. I give my own variation five stars, but the original is only two. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Morena

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2006
This is called "pastisio" in Greek, and the only recommendation I can add is to double the cinnamon and perhaps use Romano instead of parmesan (stronger flavour). Greek comfort food, my mom's is my favourite food in the world!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2003
I followed the suggestions of other reviews and halved the amount of pasta, doubled the feta cheese, and cooked it in layers. Thank you, everyone! It turned out great. I used flavored feta cheese and added spices typical of other Greek recipes I have (since I couldn't find a Greek spice at the store), and it was very flavorful. I layered it pasta first, then the feta cheese, then beef, tomatoes, and finally Parmesan. I added a clove of garlic to the beef and onion during cooking. This is also where I added 2 t. chili powder, 2 t. ground cumin, and 1/4 t. ground red pepper along with the 2 t. cinnamon. I drained the tomatoes of their juice and added 3 T. of lime juice to them. My whole family loved it, and I will most definitely make it again...soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2004
I found this recipe to have a very pleasant taste, but is probably not something I would make again. It's better the second day, I think. Essentially, this dish takes four pans -- one to cook the meat, one to boil the pasta, one to prepare the white sauce, and one to bake. It's not as quick and easy as it sounds. If you already have cooked ground beef in your freezer or some cooked pasta ready, I'd probably recommend this recipe. It's filling and pairs nicely with salad. It's just a little bland. I did use only half of the pasta, I added some grated cheese to the top. I do wish I had layered it, as the noodles on the top got unpleasantly crispy. If you have to make the whole thing from scratch, I don't think it's quite worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
It is a 5 with changes. I had two 5 oz. packages of feta (one was lowfat with Mediterranean seasoning) and ground beef. I looked for a recipe and this is the one that struck me. I loved the idea. I used 1 lb. of cooked penne, 1 1/2 lbs. ground beef, a 15 oz. can of diced tomatoes, a 26 1/2 oz. can of tomato sauce, 1 large clove of garlic sauteed with the onion, salt, and pepper but no parmesan, no cinnamon. I added one package of feta to the sauce. I combined the beef sauce and pasta in the casserole. For the white sauce I used the same amount of butter, 2 tablespoons of cornstarch with 3 tablespoons of flour and 4 cups of milk seasoned with salt and peper. I put 1/2 container of lowfat feta in this sauce and poured it over the pasta mixture. I sprinkled the rest of the feta on the top. I baked it for 25 minutes. My husband rated it a five.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joan Newman
Home Town: Iroquois Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 28, 2009
This is an amazing recipe!!! Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Highland, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2005
Waaaay to much macaroni in this recipe. It might be good, if the proportions were right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2003
This recipe should come with a disclaimer just under the title: "Beware---this dish is bland and too much trouble for what you end-up with!" I didn't read the reviews before I prepared it because it sounded so good, but boy, was I disappointed when I prepared it for guests-----it was just a huge bland mass of baked pasta noodles (way too many!) with a little bit of ground beef and cinnamon flavoring. You couldn't even tell it had tomatoes or "white sauce" in it! The pasta amount should be cut-down to one or one and a half pounds, instead of the two pounds it calls for. Better yet, just make traditional Italian lasagna----it's a much bigger hit with company! Scrap this recipe!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2003
I had to cut the onion and sub tomato sauce for chopped tomatoes (picky kids), but each one ate two big bowls of this great dish!--and they hate everything. I also added Greek seasoning while cooking the beef (available in spices--usually near cajun seasoning). I didn't tell them it was lasagne, because then they would look for layers, but just called it Greek Hamburger Helper, since they love HH. I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
Everyone seemed to liket it but I added a little bit more ground beef, only used 2/3 the noodles, and added 2oz of feta cheesse. overall...very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charlestown, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Lasagna

Discover the two keys to a great lasagna.

Easy Lasagna I

Try this tasty lasagna that's simple to make.

World’s Best Lasagna

See how to make the best homemade lasagna!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States