Greek Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2003
Bland and unispiring - not worth the minimal effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2003
I had to cut the onion and sub tomato sauce for chopped tomatoes (picky kids), but each one ate two big bowls of this great dish!--and they hate everything. I also added Greek seasoning while cooking the beef (available in spices--usually near cajun seasoning). I didn't tell them it was lasagne, because then they would look for layers, but just called it Greek Hamburger Helper, since they love HH. I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2003
It needed more feta cheese. Other than that it is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2003
This recipe was pretty tasty but I omitted about one fourth of the elbow macaroni after it was cooked because it seemed like it was to much in proportion to the meat mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2003
The recipe sounds tasty , no doubt, however, I think it was a bit on the bland side. When I made it it was very dry and I had to add an additional batch of the cream sauce. Perhaps actually layering, as with traditional lasagne, would be better as it would keep the cheeses from melting and "disappearing" with the rest of the ingredients....I don't know, I just think that all of the flavors were overpowered by the pasta...I may try again but add some diced red and green peppers as well and then try the traditional layering rather than casserole method.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABYCAKES291

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2003
I followed the suggestions of other reviews and halved the amount of pasta, doubled the feta cheese, and cooked it in layers. Thank you, everyone! It turned out great. I used flavored feta cheese and added spices typical of other Greek recipes I have (since I couldn't find a Greek spice at the store), and it was very flavorful. I layered it pasta first, then the feta cheese, then beef, tomatoes, and finally Parmesan. I added a clove of garlic to the beef and onion during cooking. This is also where I added 2 t. chili powder, 2 t. ground cumin, and 1/4 t. ground red pepper along with the 2 t. cinnamon. I drained the tomatoes of their juice and added 3 T. of lime juice to them. My whole family loved it, and I will most definitely make it again...soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2003
too much cinnamon in it for me. didn't hold together real well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2003
this was great..we try a new recipe once a week and this was great. I have 3 kids and they all liked it. I substituted the canned tomatoes with sundried tomatoes..mmm good stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUZNBABY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Muncie, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2003
I was hoping that this would be a simpler version of the real Greek lasagna, pastitso, but it wasn't. As it is, it's rather a bland mess. I had to alter it substantially to get something we were happy eating. First up, you need a flavourful sauce as a sturdy base for the pasta. After browning the meat and onions, add the tomatoes, salt and pepper, and extra seasonings of oregano, garlic, and parsley (a splash of red wine is not only traditional but delicious), and allow to simmer until slightly reduced and flavourful. Only then should you add the pasta and cheeses. The white sauce is also very weak: thin-looking and thin-tasting. It needs to be made with all purpose flour, and it also needs seasoning with salt, pepper and nutmeg. I give my own variation five stars, but the original is only two. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Morena

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2003
This recipe should come with a disclaimer just under the title: "Beware---this dish is bland and too much trouble for what you end-up with!" I didn't read the reviews before I prepared it because it sounded so good, but boy, was I disappointed when I prepared it for guests-----it was just a huge bland mass of baked pasta noodles (way too many!) with a little bit of ground beef and cinnamon flavoring. You couldn't even tell it had tomatoes or "white sauce" in it! The pasta amount should be cut-down to one or one and a half pounds, instead of the two pounds it calls for. Better yet, just make traditional Italian lasagna----it's a much bigger hit with company! Scrap this recipe!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Lasagna I

Try this tasty lasagna that's simple to make.

Chef John’s Lasagna

Discover the two keys to a great lasagna.

World’s Best Lasagna

See how to make the best homemade lasagna!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States