Greek Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2004
I found this recipe to have a very pleasant taste, but is probably not something I would make again. It's better the second day, I think. Essentially, this dish takes four pans -- one to cook the meat, one to boil the pasta, one to prepare the white sauce, and one to bake. It's not as quick and easy as it sounds. If you already have cooked ground beef in your freezer or some cooked pasta ready, I'd probably recommend this recipe. It's filling and pairs nicely with salad. It's just a little bland. I did use only half of the pasta, I added some grated cheese to the top. I do wish I had layered it, as the noodles on the top got unpleasantly crispy. If you have to make the whole thing from scratch, I don't think it's quite worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2004
I thought this recipe was a pain to make for little taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2004
As with many other reviewers, I found there was too much pasta in proportion to the meat. Too much cinnamon, too little cheese, and too little flavorings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2004
This was very tasty. I only used 1 lb of the elbow macaroni, and 1 1/2 lbs of the beef, and 1 teas. of cinnamon. I also sauteed garlic and mushrooms with the beef and it tasted great!! I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lancaster, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2003
The ingredients sound good but the finished product was unpleasant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2003
This was pretty good. I changed it some. Added garlic, butter and parmesan cheese to the macaroni, only used half the amount of macaroni called for (which turned out perfect) and layered it (macaroni on bottom, then layer of feta cheese, then meat mixture). I also doubled the white sauce (which was made with flour, butter and milk; and added salt, pepper and nutmeg). And topped it with 1/2 cup shredded parmesan. Pretty good with all the changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Blythewood, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2003
This recipe should come with a disclaimer just under the title: "Beware---this dish is bland and too much trouble for what you end-up with!" I didn't read the reviews before I prepared it because it sounded so good, but boy, was I disappointed when I prepared it for guests-----it was just a huge bland mass of baked pasta noodles (way too many!) with a little bit of ground beef and cinnamon flavoring. You couldn't even tell it had tomatoes or "white sauce" in it! The pasta amount should be cut-down to one or one and a half pounds, instead of the two pounds it calls for. Better yet, just make traditional Italian lasagna----it's a much bigger hit with company! Scrap this recipe!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2003
I was hoping that this would be a simpler version of the real Greek lasagna, pastitso, but it wasn't. As it is, it's rather a bland mess. I had to alter it substantially to get something we were happy eating. First up, you need a flavourful sauce as a sturdy base for the pasta. After browning the meat and onions, add the tomatoes, salt and pepper, and extra seasonings of oregano, garlic, and parsley (a splash of red wine is not only traditional but delicious), and allow to simmer until slightly reduced and flavourful. Only then should you add the pasta and cheeses. The white sauce is also very weak: thin-looking and thin-tasting. It needs to be made with all purpose flour, and it also needs seasoning with salt, pepper and nutmeg. I give my own variation five stars, but the original is only two. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Morena

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2003
this was great..we try a new recipe once a week and this was great. I have 3 kids and they all liked it. I substituted the canned tomatoes with sundried tomatoes..mmm good stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUZNBABY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Muncie, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2003
too much cinnamon in it for me. didn't hold together real well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Lasagna I

Try this tasty lasagna that's simple to make.

Chef John’s Lasagna

Discover the two keys to a great lasagna.

World’s Best Lasagna

See how to make the best homemade lasagna!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States