Greek Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
I took the advice of other reviews and used extra cheese. I also had some apples that needed to be used, so sliced those up thin and threw them in a layer in the middle. Yum! (I forgot to mix in the cinnamon, so I sprinked it lightly on the top and that was good!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
i replaced cinnamon w/ cumin & it makes a world of a difference. also when using this website, be careful of the area that says servings, on this recipe, it automatically gives you 12, so that could be the large of amts of pasta. enjoy ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
It is a 5 with changes. I had two 5 oz. packages of feta (one was lowfat with Mediterranean seasoning) and ground beef. I looked for a recipe and this is the one that struck me. I loved the idea. I used 1 lb. of cooked penne, 1 1/2 lbs. ground beef, a 15 oz. can of diced tomatoes, a 26 1/2 oz. can of tomato sauce, 1 large clove of garlic sauteed with the onion, salt, and pepper but no parmesan, no cinnamon. I added one package of feta to the sauce. I combined the beef sauce and pasta in the casserole. For the white sauce I used the same amount of butter, 2 tablespoons of cornstarch with 3 tablespoons of flour and 4 cups of milk seasoned with salt and peper. I put 1/2 container of lowfat feta in this sauce and poured it over the pasta mixture. I sprinkled the rest of the feta on the top. I baked it for 25 minutes. My husband rated it a five.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joan Newman
Home Town: Iroquois Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2008
Like other reviewers have said, I found this recipe to be on the bland side. Also, it makes an insane amount of pasta. I found I needed one 13X9 pan and two 8-inch square pans to contain it all. The recipe really should specify the size of the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
My husband and I love this dish. I do agree with other reviewers in that it can be dry. I will double the sauce recipe the next time I make it. And to those who find it "bland," yes, it is a mildly flavored dish, but it is very simple to alter the amount of spice in any aspect of the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chatham, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
I thought this recipe was very good. I added 8.5 oz. diced artichoke hearts to it. Increased the garlic cloves to 4 and used only 3/8 teaspoon cinnamon. It is a different dish, but my family enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bandsbaby6

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2006
This is called "pastisio" in Greek, and the only recommendation I can add is to double the cinnamon and perhaps use Romano instead of parmesan (stronger flavour). Greek comfort food, my mom's is my favourite food in the world!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2006
Very bland if you don't use more spices. Also, I don't recommend using cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2005
Waaaay to much macaroni in this recipe. It might be good, if the proportions were right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2005
I'm asked to make it over and over again....and I know how to cook some great dishes...it's just tasty and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chef John’s Lasagna

Discover the two keys to a great lasagna.

Easy Lasagna I

Try this tasty lasagna that's simple to make.

World’s Best Lasagna

See how to make the best homemade lasagna!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States