Greek Lamb Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 31, 2013
Great stew! I added a chopped red bell pepper toward the end, put in less tomatoes, used a bit more parsley fresh from our garden, and used dried red chinese hot pepper instead of black pepper. We all loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
Very tasty. Used nearly 2 lbs cubed shoulder roast meat and 1 each of canned diced tomatoes, crushed tomatoes and tomato sauce. Used two cans of green beans, chicken broth and about 1 cup burgandy wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Wyattdogster
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
I found a deal on lamb shoulder chops and without having a clue what to do with them, I snatched them up! Luckily I found this recipe. With the exception of using chicken stock in place of lamb stock, I followed the directions to a T. Just before adding the green beans, I tasted the broth and added more oregano and cinnamon and also a bit of brown sugar to cut the acid of the tomatoes. I gave the green beans 30 minutes because we like them a bit soft in stews. Surprisingly, it was a hit with the family! Next time I'll pay more attention to trimming the fat off those chops! Even better..this would be great with lamb stew meat!.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wyattdogster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
Loved this recipe, but I changed it alittle...used 28oz. can of crushed tomatoes only; reduced the stock to 1/2c; and added a 1/4 teaspoon each of allspice and ground cloves put everything in a crock pot and cooked on low for 5 hours. I served it with bulger wheat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2009
The flavour of this was very good, although I may use more lemon next time to get the zing I expect from Greek lamb dishes. Instead of chopped fresh tomatoes and tomoato sauce I just used to cans of chopped tomatoes and it worked fine. The sauce seemed to be a lot of very thin liquid, which I will thicken next time I make this as it just ran straight through the rice I served it with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Louiselombard

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Westville, Kwazulu-Natal, South Africa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
This was wonderful! I left out the lemon due to personal prefences and cooked it in the slow cooker for 5 hours on high. I used the Mavrodaphne (Greek dessert wine) I had on hand, which gave the stew a nice sweet overtone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Living In: Springfield, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
I had this for dinner tonight cooked in the slow cooker, definitely a keeper but needs a bit of tweaking for my tastes. As I ate it I kept thinking something was really missing - realised it was mushrooms and possibly a pinch of crushed dried chilis. I had cheated on the original already by using canned diced tomatoes with tomato paste instead of fresh with canned sauce, and adding carrots and eggplant (because they were there). Ate with fresh bread which sopped up the juice, it was delicious even without mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: 100 Mile House, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
I was quite hopeful that I would enjoy this one but the lemon flavour just overpowered everything else...even the lamb! Half a lemon was definitely too much...it was almost inedible. If you decide to make this one I would add the lemon gradually to suit your individual taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Lamb Stew

See how to make a traditional, hearty Irish stew.

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Lamb Tagine

Lamb is stewed in Moroccan spices until moist and tender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States